Antependium, penultimate panel.

I do love the word penultimate, don’t you? It has a wonderful whiff of victorian melodrama to it, I can’t even read it without visualising a soppy herione being tied to a railroad track by a moustache twirling villain…

Oh, right, the embroidery, ok. Panel eight in order of works, two in the narrative. Young Mary being presented at the temple. Lots of fiddly twiddly bits on this one, stage two took aaaages.

Also, apologies if you click on the image to enlarge it and it comes out upside down. Because of the wobbly frame its easier for me to take the picture upside down, because that’s how I work, then flip it in the edit facility on wordpress, but it seems to flip back to square one when you enlarge – I have no clue what to do about that.

~ by opusanglicanum on September 14, 2012.

20 Responses to “Antependium, penultimate panel.”

  1. Assuming you use windows, the Paint program can rotate the picture 180 degrees (i.e. flip it). If you save it after rotation, before uploading, it will always be right side up, and you don’t have to tell the wordpress software to flip it.

    • I treid editing it before upload on the mac, and it flipped it back again when I uploaded, which was rather annoying. sometimes I’m on mac and sometimes pc, so I find it hard to keep track of what works where to be honest

  2. I love your work and the colors here are so vibrant. Beautiful adaptation.

  3. Try using Android instead! (Hey, one of them should get it right!)

    Love all the twiddly bits, by the way – worth the effort, for sure!

    • I think this particular mac classes as vintage, its seven years old, I don’t think it holds with newfangled android!

      this particualr panel does have an awful lot of twiddlies

  4. PENULTIMATE indeed! (full stop!) A lovely word to suit the very large accomplishment of this series of panels! It challenges my arithmetic skills to figure out just how many hours you must put into a project like this. Congratulations.

    Deb

  5. I was just wondering how many hours you spend each day doing this. It’s amazing the needlework you do. If I could, I’d smock, embroider and sew by hand for hours, but I need to take breaks because of muscle fatigue. A bit frustrating sometimes!

    • I generally have a couple of hours each evening after dinner monday to thursday if I’m working, then mabye and hour or two at the weekend if I’m at home. If I do have all day to sew I find the thing to do is sit and sew for and hour then do something physical for fifteen minutes (even if its just housework)- I don’t have any problems with my hands getting tired, but my bum goes to sleep after an hour, I’m not the best at sitting still

  6. Very impressive indeed (both the panel and that it is almost finished!). Though I can imagine they were annoying to do, the fiddly bits do look very beautiful.

    • fiddly bits are not so much annoying as very very slow. I’m looking forward to finishing it – mainly so I can get rid of the long strechers on my frame that gareth made specially for this piece. I live in a very little cottage (at least its little downstiars, upstairs is bigger) and its dominating my room. I plan to put the frame back to its old size and then take the long strechers to nottingham event and ceremonially burn them on the campfire (I shall draw the line at dancing naked around them as they burn though – its too cold for that sort of thing at the end of October)

  7. So beautiful. The faces are wonderful.

  8. Really like the star design on that temple.

  9. Would love to see a picture of its overall completion at this point. I know you are getting close. It is so gorgeous!

    • even I haven’t seen that yet – I’ve been sewing bits of linen over the finished bits to keep them clean as I go along. so we’ll both just have to wait, I’m afraid!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 518 other followers

