Something a little bit different.

I started doing eygptian storytelling last year, and I really needed a collar to finish off my outfit.

I was at the wholesalers last week and they had the perfect lapis lazuli beads, but unfortunately not at the perfect price – it would have cost well over £100 to make so something suitable. They did, however, have reconstituted turquoise for £2 a string (+vat) so I plumped for that and mixed in a few scarab beads I had lying around.

Gareth saw me making this, smiled indulgently, and said “Girls like beads” as though he was talking about some strange savage race, and I’m like, “Wtf! I’m working here!”

 

And no, you don’t get a picture of me wearing it, cos the only Ancient Eygptian frock I could come up with that wasn’t completely tits oot fer the lads is basically a big white teabag, and the internets does not need a pic of me wearing a teabag and a stupid wig

 

~ by opusanglicanum on August 8, 2011.

2 Responses to “Something a little bit different.”

  1. It looks lovely, and very suitable indeed. And I point out to Gareth that ancient Egyptian men were if anything even keener on beads than their womenfolk!

  2. poor gareth, he has absolutely no peacock in him at all, he understands shiny things less than anyone i’ve ever met

Leave a Reply

 
