labours of the months, September

 September, from the Labours of the months. The vintage, which is basically the same picture as march, but with grapes.

I think I made his nose too big and his feet too small, but never mind. I made them white grapes rather than the red of the original source as I’m assured white wine grapes grow better in Britain than the red (wine wasn’t a major crop in medeival england, but it was grown). My first instinct was to make the vine leaves very dark, but Gareth assures me they should be quite pale and that I’m thinking of the pickled ones you buy for  amking dolmades.

Appletones crewel wool on Manx tweed, all split stitch.

 

 

 And October is all outlined and ready to be coloured in.  A certain someone is very keen on angry birds and insists that the piggies ought to be green.

 

~ by opusanglicanum on May 29, 2012.

17 Responses to “labours of the months, September”

  1. Your work is absolutely astounding. It could be displayed in a Medieval museum and no one would know that it wasn’t authentic, it is so well done.

  2. I think he’s a real character!

  3. Fantastic! He looks great (and his nose has character!) I don’t know that I’ve ever had an English wine, but this guy kind of makes me want to try one. :)

  4. Maybe the nose is a little big, but it creates a striking character, rather than an anodyne placeholder-type person!

  5. It’s gorgeous. The medieval historian has a big nose, so I’m sure that proves something.

  6. It’s gorgeous. The medieval historian has a big nose so I’m sure that proves something.

  7. by his nose i would say he is from Caucasus – armenian or georgian :)
    I admire your technique – such even stitches, it looks like painting.

  8. I like his feet the way they are.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 449 other followers

