Antependium panel five

 Panel five of the Rekjahlid antependium. The Nativity, because obviously, all the best stables in Bethlehem had four-poster beds in them.

Actually, I love how this shows just how gaudy medieval painted furniture really should be.

 

~ by opusanglicanum on May 30, 2012.

8 Responses to “Antependium panel five”

  1. I saw the programme about Dover Castle – “gaudy” is an understatement!

  2. Might be gaudy, but beautiful work on your part. I really love seeing the antependium develop.

    • I quite like guady middle ages, am not much of a minimalist. gareth is appalled with me cos I have a carved medeival box on order and i plan to paint it

  3. Beds in stables have canopies, too! Not only is the bed delightfully painted, but the ox has a fantastic expression. He seems to be waiting to be impressed.

    Where is your medieval box coming from?

    • I thought the ox had a creepily human face.

      lady called val cartmel is meant to be carving it, but its been two years – I think she’s forgotten, I may ahave to nag her soon

  4. That is absolutely lovely.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers

