big dragon cushion

I found this gorgeous piece of wool cloth on ebay last week. The piece is quite large, and mostly a plain red and green twill fabric, but one corner has this fab dragon woven into it. It’s obviously a one off weaver’s sample piece, so how could I possibly resist?

Its double sided, and at first I thought I would make it up with the red background and green dragon because the big fault you can see on the top left here shows up far less on the red side of the cloth, but then I noticed the other, smaller fault in the middle of the dragon’s face. I didn’t think I could push that through to the other side well enough, so I decided to go with a red dragon on a green background instead. Am half convinced that John will now tell me off because the dragon is now facing in the wrong heraldic direction or somesuch, but I didn’t want a dragon with a big zit on his face.

Do you know I’ve used piping cord for all kinds of things over the years, but I don’t think I’ve ever actually piped a cushion with it, and I found it a little challenging. I’m not sure what the correct way to do it is, but what I did was sew it twice – once to hold the piping in place, and the second time further in to make sure it was butted up properly, as trying to pin it just didn’t work for me at all. As you can see I did it with the contrasting side of the fabric, which I think looks quite pleasant.

It’s quite a subtle sagey green, but not quite a grey as it looks on my monitor. It’s also quite large – I stuffed it with a pillow – but I think it will make a splendid adornment to the tent when we’re at events. (Doesn’t go at all with Gareth’s sofa though)

I still have half the double sided twill left. I’m sure I’ll find a use for it – maybe it would make a nice hood?

~ by opusanglicanum on June 18, 2012.

19 Responses to “big dragon cushion”

  1. Love the dragon. What a nice find.

  2. What an adorable dragon! I think I rather like him facing sinister.

  3. What a fabulous creature he is!

  4. A fantastic find that makes a wonderful cushion! The piping looks great, however you attached it.

  5. Great dragon, which ever way he faces.

  6. There is absolutely no way that you could resist him. Shame we couldn’t find a bolt of it!

  7. I had a look on the Victorian art and crafts site for you…no luck. If you get stuck maybe ask on Antique Patterns Library yahoo group if anyone knows of an old book that describes the technique? They are pretty good there…..

  8. Oh, and the piece is *gorgeous*. Great find!

  9. […] couple of years ago I bought a weavers sample with a dragon woven into it Once I’d used the dragon I set aside the sizeable pice of leftover cloth, thinking I’d […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

