A little bit of antependium progress

 Not very interesting, I know, but since I’ve been able to reduce the size of bandage on my thumb I’ve done some work this week. The interminable border pattern does seem to be going a little faster this time.

There’s a tiny voice of optimism in the back of my head that keeps whispering I may finish this thing for Nottingham. However, there is also a tiny voice of pessimism that insists I will probably have six square inches still left to do on the night before the event.

I’ve also been getting to grips with my workshop this week. I’d left a half finished silver circlet out on the workbench and on tuesday I couldn’t find it anywhere – I turned the place upside down and got quite frustrated. I finally found it peeking out from behind the radiator, Branston must have knocked it down there when he was watching birdies on my bench. Gareth says I should stop his pocket money, but I don’t think it will serve much purpose as at the rate he’s currently going he wont be getting any pocket money until he’s at least 87.

I will not, btw, be bringing you work in progress pics of jewelery and chalices, as it looks very much like dirty scrap metal until its all polished, but once I’ve concocted a parcel of things large enough to send to Sheffield, I shall have things hallmarked, then gilded, then there will no doubt be an orgy of pics of shiny things at some point in future.

But I wouldn’t hold your breath – its a slow business.

Am off to a corporate do at Harewood this evening, which I suppose is the bright side of Berkeley being cancelled. They’re only paying expenses, but its the kind of expenses that can pay the grocey bill for a week or two, and the catering will be michelin starred (literally – the hogroast is by the boxtree in Ilkley).

 

~ by opusanglicanum on July 20, 2012.

8 Responses to “A little bit of antependium progress”

  1. I love the idea of a michelin-starred hogroast – it sounds rather counter-intuitive, doesn’t it!
    Maybe you could confiscate Branny’s catnip?

    • it does sounds a bit counter intuitive, but believe it or not it wont be the first michelin starred hogroast i’ve had – the star at harome did the roast for pickering food festival a few years ago (before they lost their star,, as it were)

      it wont make any difference, he’s just bad to the bone

  2. The interminable border looks great. Glad your thumb is healing apace.

  3. Keep on ploughing and I’m sure it will be done in time. And enjoy your fine dining. You are able to stitch now, I take it, so your thumb must be getting better. I’m glad to hear it.

Leave a Reply

 
