pretty

I saw this spiffy little number in the window of Tennants of Leyburn’s Harrogate office this afternoon, so I thought I’d post it as a public service announcement. No idea when it comes up for sale, but if I win the lottery I’ll find out and bid for it. It wont fit me though!

~ by opusanglicanum on August 1, 2012.

10 Responses to “pretty”

  1. I think “pretty” is understating the case – although I don’t fancy the underwear necessary to create the fashionable body shape of the time!

    • Hmm, I was wearing a corset for work earlier that day, so the underwear never occurs to me cept when its not there. I get really grumpy when I go to beamish and they’ve dressed the staff in victorian costume – without corsets. It just looks ridiculous.

      • I’m sure it does. And although I said I don’t fancy corsets, my grandmother-in-law used to say that if you just relax into them, they’re really very comfortable!

      • I’ve noticed that people who are scared of corsets chicken out and don’t do them up very tight, then complain they aren’t comfy, and its because if they’re not tight enough your body rubs and pinches inside – the trick is to do it up tight enough so you no longer feel the corset, but not tight enough to cut off your breathing (gareth is no longer allowed to do up my corsets, on account of the fact he thiks partially ashxyiated is a hot look)

  2. I have a friend who does a bit of Steampunk-ness who would like that very much.

  3. What are the motifs around the bottom? Beautiful thing, though, and looks like it’s in mint condition.

  4. Ooh, nice detailed lacework on the jacket! I bet you could do something even nicer. I don’t like those bits on the bottom of the skirt; when I saw them, my first thought was that they were shoe-prints.

Leave a Reply

 
