pretty pictures

I know I’ve been a bit quiet, but I’ve been away at back to backevents most of the week, and offline – I was at Chillingham castle for two of the days, where I saw niether ghosts nor a mobile phone signal.

When I got back there was a parcel, so, being too knackered to actually do anything today (I still have to air all my costumes due to torrential rain) I have been looking at the pictures.

I haven’t been reading anything, just looking at the pictures, since the book is in German and I don’t speak German.

It’s a catalogue of the Deutsches Textilmuseum, of the School of textile engineering in Krefeld. Divided into sections on different types of needlework, and you don’t really need to read German to figure out that “applikationsstikereien” is applique, although I admit there are a few bits I’m going to run through googletranslate when I’m feeling a bit more energetic. The dates are fairly obvious as well. I’m quite excited by all the pictures of velvet applique, (specially after the article on that early Italian patchwork cushion in the last medieval clothing and textiles)and there were a few fragments of cloisterstitch, whitework, and lots of goldwork, as well as a stitch glossary at the back, and it’s lovely to see something different to the same pieces you see over and overagain in medieval embroidery.

Basically, this is a very nice picture book for the historical textiles enthusiast, with a bit of gibberish attached, which is fine if you’re anything like me and only look at the piccies.

 

~ by opusanglicanum on August 20, 2012.

8 Responses to “pretty pictures”

  1. Interesting! It’d be possible to find it in English?

  2. It sounds like just the thing for a recovery day!

  3. Picture books, mmmmmm.

  4. […] based on one of the c16th pieces in this book . It’s brown silk velvet, which I backed with linen so I’d have something to anchor […]

  5. […] Anyhow, back to the topic at hand. The pattern on all three ladies’ stomachers was one of small rosettes edged by gold bars, so I decided to use a small repeated rosette of pearls from this book. […]

Leave a Reply

 
