Antependium panel eight unlined

Panel eight in the order of works, two in the narrative order, without the fiddly twiddly bits – so just the laid and couched work background, then.

I looked at the book this time, this one is the presentation of the virgin at the temple, the temple being a tiny weeny house according to this.

 

~ by opusanglicanum on August 30, 2012.

15 Responses to “Antependium panel eight unlined”

  1. Such bright primary colours! I guess we get used to seeing faded things. This is beautiful!

  2. lovely .. as usual! Thanks for sharing your stunning and inspiring progress.

  3. It’s gorgeous. Is your house full of this lovely stuff?

  4. You are so talented and obviously very patient! It looks amazing!

  5. I quite like the tiny temple. The colors are lovely!

  6. It looks gorgeous!
    May I ask you what kind of wool you are using (where you bought it) and what kind of cloth to embroider on? Is it a countable cloth?

    • i bought the wool at the handweavers studio in london – they’re on the net – although i cant remember what thread count it is, I just got the one that was closest to appleton’s crewel. I bought it white and veg dyed it. I’ve got a laod of white wool thread put by for another dye batch, probably early next year, its practically identical count to appletons crewel, and I might be able to spare some of that once its done.

      the background cloth is fairly random linen bought from anwar at herts fabrics, its just shirt linen, not modern countable stuff. I don’t tned to buy embroidery linen as such, as shirt linen does fine for medieval ambroidery and is about 20 percent of the price. I should have used white wool for the background, really, as thats what the original was done one, but I didn’t realise that until I’d finished

      • Thank you so much for your reply.
        I will check out the handweavers studio.
        And I buy my cloth from Anwar too :D

        I just always seem to have problems to get my embroidery even, without gaps, so I wonder if other people use thicker wool or countable cloth…
        But I guess it is just down to practice.

      • anwar is lovely. he’s really forgetfull though – I’ve known him for years, and at least once a year for the last five years I’ve had to tell him my ex and I are no longer an item, and every time he seems quite taken aback, bless him. I don’t think it helps him that John and I still go to events together.

        If you show me some pics theres a slim chance I may be able to give you some hints as to where you’re going wrong with the embroidery, although its hard on photo. I doubt buying expensive linen would help you much, as it tends to be a more open weave than shirt linen, so great for modern counted stuff but not so brilliant for medieval. It might be that you’re using the wrong tensioning device (hoops are rubbish, frames are much better) or that you might be better off using two layers of linen, which works better for some techniques, but on the whole getting things even is a practice issue

      • btw, 9 times out of 10, its thinner wool that will improve your technique, not thicker. counterintuitive, I know, but thinner thread makes you look closer at the work and correct as you go along, it makes you sew smaller and neater

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 451 other followers

