October, Labours of the months

October from the labours of the months project. Appletons crewel wool on Manx tweed, split stitch.

Trouble with this one was that as I sewed the word “October” and it was all scrunched up in my hand, I kept reading the word “Toblerone” instead – not that I have a one-track mind or anything.

I finished on the train back from King’s Cross on sunday evening. You may remember the c17th tablet weave I was doing earlier in the year?

In the end I did 15 metres of it for Jenny Tiramani, who along with Hattie Barsby, is back at the Globe again doing the costumes for RichardIII and Much ado(I used to do quite a bit for them when they worked with Mark Rylance before at the globe), and they’d blagged me complimetary tickets for dicky on Saturday night.

I was quite excited cos I’d never been down to see my braid on stage before, and I didn’t spot it this time either – maybe they used it for the other play, I don’t know. It was interesting though, as although I’ve been to the Globe before I’d never had comps, and the comped seats were in the Lord’s room, which is basically the balcony up on stage that they use as part of the performace. My friend and I were sat on the side balcony and at one point Mark Rylance was acting a scene on the central bit a few feet away. I’ve read that back in the day these were the best seats as they had the best accoustics and you couldn’t smell the audience, but you do spend most of the performance looking down at the top of the actor’s heads. Oh, and if you looked down at the floor you could see the dressing rooms and backstage areas through the gaps in wood, which was a little unnerving!

The costumes were gorgeous – specially the coronation robe of real silk figured velvet and proper ermine – yummy! Although Gareth did try to kick me out of bed on Sunday night when I told him that Roger Lloyd Pack, who was Buckingham, looked borderline sexy in a doublet and hose.

And in other news Branny was very pleased with the bag I brought home for him

I did make myself a new handbag for the trip but I haven’t got round to taking a pic of it yet…

~ by opusanglicanum on September 4, 2012.

20 Responses to “October, Labours of the months”

  1. Toblerone…..sigh. Now there’s a word I’d like to see more often. Mr. October looks great and I love his pigs. What an honour to have your trim on the stage! I had often wondered about those box seats and their view. I’d rather sit in the centre middle, but not behind someone with a large hat.

  2. Oh no, poor pigs. I don’t wear hats. My hair is big enough.

    • they get to start an exciting new career as sausages though?

      I never go out without one. I almsot bought a new one on saturday but it was a bit pricey and I decided I wanted to spend the money on daquiries and chocolate instead

      • Or bacon! That’s the difference between England and the colonies, I think. We hardly ever wear them here in Canada. You can tell a British wedding by the hats.

        Chocolate is always a good idea. Could be written off as a business expense.

      • apart from nasty american baseball caps nobody but me wears them very much here either, I just like hats

        my yearly treat when i go to london is that I’m allowed to spend a ludicrous amount of money at la maison du chocolat

      • I had to look them up, but I think the maison will be getting a visit when I am there. I don’t count baseball caps as hats at all. I’d like to wear them more often, but a hat is an all-day commitment when you have big hair.

      • maison du chocolat in london and lauden in leeds – no one has heard of lauden yet, but they’re superb, they do the best passion fruit truffle ever

      • Noted. I’ll make sure we get to one of them!

  3. It sounds like a fantastic evening out!

  4. How exciting your night at the theatre sounded! I am very envious, as I live in Texas (temporarily) where they’ve never heard of Shakespeare and theatres are only for line dances.

  5. Despite living down there for ten years we never made it to The Globe and I would really like to sometime. I hope you went and bought some Toblerone? I would have had to because it would have given me a craving. Mr P works in Leeds I shall direct him to look up Lauden in time to buy me a Christmas present 😉

    • If you go to the globe don’t be a groundling, get seats, and cushions, cos standing right through a play is incredibly hard. I couldn’t do it cos I have a bad tendon, first time I went we had groundling tickets and I had to go home at the interval.

      the daft thing is I dont much like toblerone – its impossible to find the dark one and I dont like milk chocolate.

      gareth orders my christmas chocs from lauden months in advance, because apparently its only one woman, and she’s won so many food awards she sells out well before xmas and can’t keep up. he gets his mail order – we know she’s in the centre of leeds somewhere but we’ve never found it, the only retail places we’ve found her chocs are fodder and hunters of helmsley.

  6. Sounds like a fantastic trip – I love that bit of London and getting to see stuff for free is always lovely. I saw Mark Rylance as Romeo about a hundred years ago and he was fantastic, but I think he’s gone off. Care to comment?

    • he was very funny as dicky, but sometimes it was quite difficult to tell whether he was being deliberately vague or forgetting his lines – the friend i went with was seeeing it for the second time and thought it was the latter cos he did it in different places

  7. Wow! That trim is gorgeous! I’m just a beginning weaver and was wondering if you had a blog on how you did that? And the rest of your work is so amazing!

    • It was down to voiding some of the holes and using differing thicknesses of thread, which meant I had to keep some bits under separate tension. Horrendously expensive to produce though, because it used a lot of very expensive silk thread

  8. Fascinating (and probably beyond my skill level at the moment. 🙂 Thank you for the response.

Leave a Reply

 
