antependium panel nine!

YAy! Final panel! Just the top border to go. I have 11 evenings at home between now and Nottingham, so I’m going to have to work hard.

~ by opusanglicanum on October 7, 2012.

18 Responses to “antependium panel nine!”

  1. Almost there! Does it feel like going down hill, now that the end is within sight?

  2. You have done such beautiful work with this piece. You should be very proud. I am honored to see it. Thank you.

  3. Looks beautiful as ever. BTW what goes on in Nottingham. It’s my home town so I am fascinated to know.

    • I thinks if the 26th(?) year they’ve done a Robin hood pageant (as opposed to the festival in the forest in summer) at the castle. we’ve been going since the begining and its my favourite show of the year – partly because its one the few I dont usually roast at (not that thats been a problem this summer) ad partly cos its such a nice atmosphere. my friend john plays king richard and holds court.

      • There’s a certain irony in having King Richard played by a John, hehe. Sounds like a great event; makes me wish I’d not emigrated!

  4. Yay! I can’t wait to see it all together. With the speed you stitch, you’ll have no trouble meeting your deadline.

    • its a bit scary though cos I’ve just realsied that my eleven evenings at home is actually only nine!

      • What’s left to do? The top section and then construction?

      • yes, pretty much – and I can at a push construct it once I get to nottingham, but the top border is quite wide and compicated compared to the sides – I may end up having to take it gareths at the weekend, which will be a faff as the frame is huge and ever so slightly wobbly

      • Ah, wobbly frames. Aging is nasty.

        Are the sections connected or do you have to sew them together? I have no doubt you’ll make it in time. I’ve seen enough of your determination and hard work in the year I’ve been following.

      • its not wobbling cos of age but because gareth extended it from 30 inches wide to about 50 in order to make it big enough for this project(otherwise I would have had to make it in several pieces, so yes, it is one large piece) and the new cross bars dont quite fit the old uprights.

        plus, I broke the bottom bar and its now held together with duct tape.

        I am giving the extra large crossbars a viking funeral on the campfire at nottingham. ad there will be dancing, oh yes there will

      • I didn’t mean that the frame was old. More commiserating with it as I’ve gotten more wobbly as I’ve aged! You don’t think you’ll need the large cross bars again?

      • I’m not planning on anything that large in the next few years, and as I said, one is broken. If I ever need wide ones again it only took gareth an hour to make them, so they aren’t worth keeping

  5. I just have to say how amazed I am looking at your work. Its fantastic , well worth all the effort.can’t wait to see it all finished

  6. […] replicate the drawings I found myself using the same double lining techniques that I used for the antependium, specially since the antependium and manuscript are of roughly similar dates, as it shows the […]

Leave a Reply

 
