2012 christmas project day 13- finished,sort of.

goldvelvet2012 day13Well, the first phase is finished, anyway.

In the end I went with a tawny brown for the scallopy bits, rather than the blue or dark brown I’d orinally had in mind. The blue went too mushy against the green- they were too close tonally. Hopefully the tawny will reflect the eventual goldwork without being too shiny and distracting in the corners.

I say eventual goldwork as I still need to complete last years. This one will be easier as it isn’t quite so intricate. I’ll not wash and stretch it until the spare frame is free, which means finishing the other one.

WordPress is being a total swine this evening – three times I uploaded that image, edited it, and put it here, then wordpress posts an unedited image at the top of the page. I really really hate that, it’s one of WordPress’s most irritating features.

But at least tomorrow I can start on the new project I’ve been wanting to do ever since starting the Antependium. I also need to think of something to do next christmas. I don’t want another almoner – I am toying with picking up the great UFO that is the header pic for the blog though. It would be several christmasses worth, but breaking it into achievable little bits might be the way to get it done. of course, if I finished it would then have to find an opportunity to wear it at least once…

And in other news I bought myself a present today – six metres of gold coloured silk velvet. I have no idea what I’m going to do with it other than the obvious fact that it’s a dress length, but I’m sure I’ll come up with something eventually. In my defence gold is one of my favourite colours, it was stupidly cheap, and I will never be able to get it for that price again. Let’s see if the almighty WordPress will put tha pic where I want it, shall we?

Obviously not.

If anyone still wants any, I still have bits of dark red, brown, and purple velvet I can sell.

~ by opusanglicanum on January 9, 2013.

22 Responses to “2012 christmas project day 13- finished,sort of.”

  1. Wonderful! Congratulations!

  2. It looks great! Congrats.

  3. I love it!

  4. Oh my goodness – 13 days and you’re done? (Well, minus the background, but still!) That’s some speedy sewing!

    The gold velvet looks fabulous. I suggest something totally OTT, preferably with fur (de Clifford’s?), embroidery and lots of bling…

  5. It’s gorgeous – can’t wait to see it with the gold.

  6. That silk velvet looks gorgeous – I’m looking forward to seeing what you do with it!

    • I ahven’t really thought that far ahead yet, I’ve only though as far ahead as ” prety colour, cheap, me wants”

      although to be fair, I rarely think much furhter ahead than that

  7. I love how you have done this, its been nice seeing the work in progress. I enjoy the humour in the image you used, esp the cat 🙂

  8. I love your choice of the tawny colour – it adds light to the panel.
    And you are starting a project you’ve wanted to do for well over a year? How exciting! Looking forward to seeing what it is.

    • well its not that exciting, really, since I’ve got my projects planned years in advance in some cases – this is just one I want to do for fun, cos its a bit silly

  9. It turned out very nice! I really like the details and the shading you added. Will this be one in a series? You know, so the next one can have the couple out of bed and dressed in real clothes. 😄

  10. […] used the red and pale green on the left for the curtains and bedding on this year’s christmas project, alongside the devere no6 flat silk. I think the new stuff is marginally thicker, but they worked […]

Leave a Reply

 
