Noah’s ark border

noah border detail

I got the lower border of the new Noah’s ark panel done. I decided to leave the circles as voided cloth in order to bring that element of the design down into the body of the piece, otherwise all of the voided space would have been on the top deck, so to speak.

I wasn’t sure what to do about the little nipples in the middle of the circles at first, as its hard to think of an early medieval stitch with which to make a smallish spot, so in the end I went with small circle of stem stitch. I’m not sure blue was the right choice though.

I know this sounds a bit sad – ok, extremely sad – but it was actually quite exciting to start using the dark red. It’s cochineal dyed stuff that’s been sitting in storage for nearly two years, I dyed it along with all the thread for the antependium, but the colour was inappropriate for that piece, so it’s been sat waiting for ages.

I’m also looking forward to using some of my second wash colours in this that I didn’t get to use in the antependium.

noah border

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go and try a temporary fix on my embroidery frame. I broke the joint this morning for about the fourth time. Gareth is going to fix it on Saturday, but I can’t last that long, so I think I can bodge it with pipecleaners til then. Then I need to remember to swap my frames over at some point, as it makes no sense for the good frame to be at his house and the broken one at mine, since the frame at my house sees far more use.

~ by opusanglicanum on January 17, 2013.

10 Responses to “Noah’s ark border”

  1. Wow… What stitch is it?

  2. I’d be excited about finally starting to use the cochineal after all this time as well!
    Do you know the difference between bugs and beetles? Bugs have sucking mouth parts (mandibles). Cochineal comes from a bug not a beetle. Bug really is a technical term, not an American-ism. Can you tell I was watching QI yesterday while I was setting up a project on my new slate frame
    I am a total nerd for liking knowing the difference between a bug and a beetle. I know.

  3. This looks like it will be good fun to stitch, full of life.

  4. […] can be found by clicking – bird, captain’s cabin, top deck, amidships, lower deck, border, setting […]

Leave a Reply

 
