Thank you and an apology

First a thank you to Kerri for nominating me for an Inspiring blogger award

inspiring2bblog2baward

And secondly an apology to Kerri because its taken me weeks to get round to reciprocating. It’s not that I wasn’t excited and flattered, it’s just that life…well, you know, life?

 

The rules for accepting a blog award are as follows:

1.  Display award image on your blog page.

2.  Link back to the person who nominated you.

3.  State 7 facts about yourself.

4.  Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.

5.  Notify the bloggers that they have been nominated and link to their posts.

I am addicted to chocolate. I don’t think I’ve gone a single day in the last 30 years without eating some serious dark chocolate.

I am also a terrible chocolate snob.

Actually I’m a terrible food snob.

My maternal great grandfather’s first wife (from whom I’m not descended cos she died) was a tattoed lady – not the tramp stamp on the arse kind of modern tattoed lady, but your genuine, “Roll up! Roll up! three bob to see the wreck of the hesperus on her left thigh!” kind of tattoed lady.

My maternal grandmother was not supposed to marry my grandfather (sadly I never met him, he died just before I was born) because marrying outside the guild was very much forbidden. His family weren’t too chuffed about it either because they were respectable farmers who regarded anyone in any kind of showbusiness as gypsies, theives, prostitutes etc. She married him anyway. However, since he was a younger son not set to inherit anything he had to join her family firm – but the guild made him sit before a council of elders, which I’ve always thought sounded terrifying.

My Granda used to come home from work to pick me up and rub my face against his stubble shouting “Cabbages! Cabbages! Cabbages!”. he could never explain why.

I am Empres of the purple zombie bunnies. If you don’t believe me just ask my Grand Vizier, Stinky Pigwhistle the 43rd.

nominees

elmsley rose

Daily Japanese Textile

English buildings

fiber follies

history seamstress

costume and culture

couture courtesan

a dressmakers workshop

alively experiment

quintessential clothes pen

 

~ by opusanglicanum on March 31, 2013.

10 Responses to “Thank you and an apology”

  1. Congratulations! I understand about the chocolate, although I prefer it less dark. Do you have any pictures of the tattooed lady?

  2. Oh, darling! You are so sweet! Especially since I haven’t blogged in a bilby’s age (which is like a coon’s age, but here in Australia we have bilbies instead of rabbits for Easter coz rabbits are a feral nuisance, follow my thinking?).

  3. Fabulous! I knew you’d have interesting facts to tell. 🙂

  4. Just goes to show, there are exotic histories everywhere!

Leave a Reply

 
