All twelve at once

labours 12

I spent most of today tacking all twelve panels onto a backcloth so that I can measure how big the filler panels need to be. THis was made extra necessary by the fact that I somehow cocked up and got them all slightly different sizes – I’m going to avoid this problem when I get to the female labours by cutting and marking all twelve circles before I begin. I did pin them all into place, but sewing something that big is always fiddly, and I ended up having to hitch my skirt up around my waist so as not to repeat the pre-breakfast incident wherein I accidentally stitched February to my nighty.

Branston kindly offered to sit on top of it to give you a sense of scale, but since most people’s first reaction upon actually meeting Branny is, “bloody hell he’s enormous!” I didn’t think that would be terribly helpful and so put a metre rule alongside it instead.

As you can see, it’s going to be effing huge.

That pale grey tweed on the other side is for the fillers and rosettes.

I am nowhere near finished (before you get all excited) I still have to do-

6 full filler panels

10 half filler panels – for the sides

4 quarter filler panels – for the corners

17 little rossettes for where the circles touch (or almost touch – the rosettes will fudge that a bit

14 half rosettes

about 40 foot of unpatterned wool tablet weave for covering all of the joins

A 16 foot piece of lettered wool tablet weave for the border, and before I can do that I have to find some mug kind person to help me with the latin. I’m a bit crap at latin.

~ by opusanglicanum on April 10, 2013.

20 Responses to “All twelve at once”

  1. Woow! Congratulations!

  2. This is one seriously huge project. Congratulations to this point. I appreciate you keeping us up to date – I live vicariously through your needlework sometimes :-). So…..is this project for anything in particular or is it for display for your events? Oh……….it’s also very attractive. Go Tanya. Cheers…………

  3. That’s absolutely gorgeous. Every time you post, I want to start embroidering. Some day soon I will put the shuttle down, I suppose …

  4. That looks great! Branston can be so helpful. I didn’t realize that was why Pedro needed to be in so many pictures. How much does Branston weigh? Pedro is 14 lbs – correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t that one stone?

  5. Wow. I do not envy you doing all that work! Next time I find myself whining about doing sashing on a wall hanging, I will think of you and realize how easy what I am doing is!

  6. Impressive so far, sounds like you have much to do before its done. Though the things you mare are just so well planned, I have no doubts that it will turn out gorgeous. Can’t wait to see it fully finished, you are on the home stretch now, my lady!

    • this one wasn’t really planned at all. it was sunday night and I needed a new project for work the next day and I thought “Oh, that looks like it will take ages, that’ll do” – hence the wobbly mismatched circle sizes

  7. I love this project. Thank you for sharing this! Every little piece, and every step you take is such an inspiration … and it all makes me smile.

  8. Had to laugh – I’ve stitched myself into several pieces, although never my nightie – yet… This is a superb project, looking forward to further updates.

  9. My goodness, that list would make Hercules pensive – and there was me thinking you’d broken the back of the project!

  10. Stunning as ever.

Leave a Reply

 
