I might be on a bit of a smocking kick…

APRON (2)

Ok, so not my most sucessful effort, it’s a bit wonky, but I wondered what would happen if I tried to translate a german brick stitch pattern into smocking.

It may be wonky, but I’ll wear it anyway, and I really like the white thread against the unbleached linen – even if the wonkiness probably wouldn’t be quite so conspicous if it was natural on natural.

You have to try these things, as my mother always says

 

 

~ by opusanglicanum on May 17, 2013.

7 Responses to “I might be on a bit of a smocking kick…”

  1. It’s delightful!

  2. Looks very c15th – I like it!

  3. Very lovely. And I agree – the white thread on undyed fabric looks very sharp.

  4. […] * atom sea #20 | Marina Kanavaki * “True Grit” Watercolors by David Rathman | ArtStormer * I might be on a bit of a smocking kick… | opusanglicanum * Happy Guest Book Photo Album | Agende si Jurnale Handmade * Making some coin | […]

Leave a Reply

 
