My first costume book

Well, not really mine, it was my mum’s, but I read it more than she did.

DSC_0362

I spent hours reading this when I was little – it was the only costume book in the house – and fantasising about all the pretty things I wanted to wear. It’s really very basic, more so when you crack the cover

DSC_0363

It has colour pictures!!! Sort of…

the first medieval costume I ever made, when I was 14, was based on this book. It was made from an old blanket from my nana’s airing cupboard, and it was awful, but it was a start

~ by opusanglicanum on June 26, 2013.

6 Responses to “My first costume book”

  1. Those illustrations look somehow familiar, although I don’t recognise the cover. I wonder whether someone plagiarized them for one of the books I did read!

  2. I love historic costume books. An elderly friend during her “exit plan” gave me a wonderful book that she had in her library. She’s been gone for some time now and I still use it frequently and always think of her when I do. It’s a treasure that I hope to be able to pass down to someone who also shares my interest someday. Thanks, Marie… 🙂

  3. Lovely to see your first inspiration – I think mine would be the Ladybird book of costume – I drew the Tudor stuff over and over again. I went to the National Museum in Copenhagen to pick up a catalogue for the Viking exhibition for Pete and saw a wonderful book on making Viking dresses – have you seen it? Think it has patterns. I really wanted it but I have NO occasion for dressing up like a Viking. Maybe it will be available when the show comes to London next year.

    • I think I know the one you mean, its nille glasel, or something? or are you thinking of the woven into the earth books _ i have the latter but not the former. I’m definitely pencilling in a visit to the bm next year, hopefully coinciding with meeting up with various southern girlfriends and getting tipsy

Leave a Reply

 
