rings and things

well, thing, at least.

My task for the summer break, in addition to having fun going to all the events I couldn’t get too last year because either they were rained off or I was working, is long.

I need to repair and refurbish some stuff for work, I have three pieces of embroidery I want to do, I want to make gareth’s christmas present, make some dress mounts, and tidy up my workbench.

And by tidy my workbench I mean finish all the half finished projects – a few bits of jewelery, two chalices and a bowl.

I started by setting the stones in a few bits from the latest hall marking parcel.

3 rings

two very simple silver gilt rings that will do for any period, one ruby, and one with a nice, pointed, native cut amethyst. The more fancy one with the opal in it is Roman, since I seem to have lost most of my Roman rings.

opal pendant

that’s my knee, btw, bet you’re glad I waxed my legs last week! A silver gilt, opal, and amethyst pendant. It’s based on a german c15th brooch. I’ve done two versions as a brooch, one of which I lost, and decided to try a smaller version to be worn as a pendant – because it’s smaller I omitted the pearls that should sit between the arms. I like those opals, theyre an odd size (7mm – standard sized stones come in 6mm and 8mm) and they’re a solid stone rather than the doublets or triplets you normally get with opal

~ by opusanglicanum on July 17, 2013.

6 Responses to “rings and things”

  1. Good progress to clearing your workbench, and very nice looking pieces, as well!

  2. Reblogged this on whiteswanjewelery.

  3. Reblogged this on rosiajewelery.

  4. So, seriously, is there nothing you can do? Other than watch the White Queen?

Leave a Reply

 
