shirt

Believe it or not, there’s actaully some design bollocks  philosophy behind the new shirt I’ve made for Gareth.

toile

I found the toile remnant for four quid on the market last week, and bought it to make a shirt without telling him, cos I knew he’s probably reject it on the basis of the print, so I didn’t show him it until I was all but finished. (It’s actaully straight on the bottom hem, but hanging a bit oddly cos I swung the sleeve round)

Now for the philosophy bit. See, toile de jouy is all about that excessive rococco thing, all francois bouchard’s maidens on swings and Marie Antoinette poncing about dressed as a milkmaid – the unrealistic rural idyll – whilst being pretty much a luxury (ish) fabric. I wanted to team it with denim, a fabric with it’s origins in workwear and poverty which has rather ironically become the subject of designer excess – so it’s sort of a beauty and the beast thing and maybe an ironic comment. The patches are an play on the rough, workwear aspect of the denim, but artfully arranged to tie in with the elegant spirit of the toile.

I also cut the denim with pinking shears and left the edges raw so they’ll fray after a couple of washes and add to the effect.

toile det

This is only the second time I’ve made a shirt, so I’m quite pleased with it. I was surprised with Gareth’s reaction though – I fully expected him to refuse to wear it, but he seems happy, even though he did pronounce it “a bit James May”. He’s decided to wear it for his play-date later – he’s going to see another plant nerd to talk about plants. I’m going somewhere else…

I know, me with a design philosophy, eh? who knew that was even possible. I can tell you’re still reeling with shock.

~ by opusanglicanum on August 3, 2013.

10 Responses to “shirt”

  1. It’s beautiful! He better not wear it while he’s gardening and mucking in the dirt. It’s too nice for that.

  2. It is very fine – but yes, I can definitely see James May in it.

  3. Beautiful work! I love the thought behind it. Hope he appreciates the boll—philosophy.

  4. It’s very “Captain Slow” but then I like it, so what does that say about me?

  5. Now what would James May think of being the descriptor of a style of clothing?

Leave a Reply

 
