Labours of the months again

labours border

The Labours hanging had it’s debut this weekend – I do have pics of it up in the tent, Ill download those later.

For those of you who are new in these parts, the 12 panels have been carried in my handbag for the past five years or so, and worked on whenever I would otherwise have been kicking my heels. This has never been my primary project.

I really don’t like that dark brown edge, which is kind of good because now I know that when I do the lettered tablet weave border in december, I need to use a bright colour (it’s probably going to be blue and grey to tie in with the rest). I was sewing on the last few small circle of tablet as I sat around the campfire sunday morning and was utterly convinced the briad was going to run out, but in the end I did it with half an inch to spare.

Oh, and it really is effing huge, about three and a half by four and a half feet.

Interestingly, as I was sewing on Saturday a lady came to talk to me and was visibly upset by the fact that I only display these at events, rather than having them on my walls at home, a situation at which she took almost personal offence. I do have art on my walls, but I prefer to look at beautiful things other people have made

I see this piece more as an interpretation of medieval embroidery than as a replica, since I’ve used basic opus anglicanum techniques but with wool rather than silk

wool split stitch embroidery on wool ground, with wool tablet weave

~ by opusanglicanum on October 29, 2013.

14 Responses to “Labours of the months again”

  1. Often people don’t understand how someone who has made something can be perfectly happy to turn their back on it – sell it, store it for specific occasions, or even give it away. In my experience, such people tend not to make things themselves..

    • there are quite a few things I make that I could never sell or give away, but it doesn’t mean I want to look at them every day. I make a lot of things specifically to give away, and then the giving is very much part of the pleasure of making it because you think about the intended recipeint

  2. It looks fabulous.

  3. That looks amazing.

  4. Interesting stuff. I love the way that people tell you what you should do with your work – I get it too, you should make them into… Drives me nuts.

  5. The more I look at this fantastic work, having greater insights into your thinking and ways of working, I find myself drawn more and more in, ever more interested and engaged. Thank you for a brand new perspective I would, probably, never have experienced if it were not for your blog.
    I have a great picture in my head of these pieces travelling around with you, five years!! wow that is truly impressive, along with the other work you do lets others know you must be very rarely not engaged in your art, if not hands on, definitely thinking about it constantly.
    I do so agree, my work is done, I very much look forward to seeing others as I find it helps me to go into different directions that I may not have if I stick with my own work. I think you are right, collecting/buying and making are not always the same bed fellows. People have told me they would not want to get rid of things they made themselves. As you say they invariably don’t make. I want to go onto the next project, learning from previous pieces, helping to shape future directions.
    I also like the way you appear to constantly ‘tweak’ ideas, trying different things and experimenting.
    Thank you again for this treat of a blog.

    • even if they work in a different medium or style it’s always interesting to see someone else’s process becuase it opens up new doors for your own work.

      THank you for the lovely comment, it made my day

  6. Oh! It is lovely to see it all finally together. Very beautiful and very impressive. (Although I have to agree with you about the brown edging…).

    As always, you are a shining example and a wonderful inspiration.

  7. It looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

 
