Something old – a cheapside hoard inspired necklace

cheapside necklaceBleargh, sorry, no progress to show on embroidery as I’ve not been well this week.

Instead I bring you something old. I made this necklace years ago as a Christmas present for my mum, I had only been doing silversmithing for about a year at evening classes and when she opened it mum at first refused to believe I had made it myself.

I meant to take a picture of it earlier in the year but mum had put it somewhere safe and couldn’t find it (I didn’t have a pic of it before). It was inspired by the lizard brooch from the Cheapside hoard. It’s not particularly shiny because I did a brushed finish on the flowers.

~ by opusanglicanum on November 9, 2013.

17 Responses to “Something old – a cheapside hoard inspired necklace”

  1. I can see your mother’s point.

  2. It looks fabulous, I’m not surprised at your mother at all, especially as you’d only been silversmithing a year!

  3. It’s beautiful! Very impressed that this was an early piece.

  4. That’s gorgeous! It definitely doesn’t look simple, even if it was 🙂

  5. I agree that it’s beautiful and doesn’t look like a (relative) beginner’s work. And it has just the right amount of shiny for my taste.

    • when mum finally found it again I did think it wasn’t too bad given how long ago I made it. I tend to get a bit grumpy when she wears it, mind, cos to me that necklace is a statement piece to be worn with very little else. you know that thing wehre they say you should look in the mirror before you leave the house and remove one accesory? my mum does that but then puts on a couple more…

      • I would never think of wearing that necklace with much other accessories. I also think that this necklace needs a shirt that leaves enough space around the neckline for the necklace to hang free and no other eyecatching jewelry (or scarves/shawls, which would be even worse in my opinion).
        I didn’t know that sentence before, but for some people it’s a sensible tip.

      • my mum has what can only be described as her own style

  6. LOVE. Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

 
