Christmas project 2013

Ok, so whilst I’m sober  I’m going to draft this evenings post explaining what the hell I’m up too because I haven’t adequately done so as yet.

I’m making a c12th collar for a new Norman frock, which will be made from the silk brocade I bought with my gas rebate this summer. The embroidery designs are taken from the chancel arch and other sculptures  at ADel parish church, about a mile or so from where I’m  typing. The arch dates from about 1160, according to the guidebook, and features such delights as baby eating cannibals, demons with hippos in their mouths, and old ladies with stripes headscarves, as well as the more traditional green men. I’m going to tie them together within a border from a manuscript of roughly the same date, since the sculptures themselves are mostly freestanding motifs. I’m going to make the motifs first in silk split stitch, then the border grid will be done with gold and pearls to bling it up a bit.

the first motif is from a column capital, and supposedly depicts two dragons. However they’re looking more and more like heraldic prawns…

image

Although I have to admit that the idea of heraldic prawns does sort of appeal to me. This is the biggest motif on the collar, so it is taking a while, hopefully the other motifs will only take about a day each

~ by opusanglicanum on December 26, 2013.

4 Responses to “Christmas project 2013”

  1. There is a sort of charm about the idea of Heraldic Prawns, I must admit!

  2. I have to agree that Heraldic Prawns are cool. Perhaps they can be on your own coat of arms.

Leave a Reply

 
