Collar project

Am renaming it the collar project cos it feels wrong to be calling it the Christmas project now, and I got so little done on it over Christmas I have this guilty sort of feeling that my Christmas project as a bit of a damp squib this year anyway

image

Im still having problems getting a decent pic of the thing, but this weekend I went over the dragon and the centaur again, tidying up the outlines with cream- the dark outlines really weren’t working and I feel this is much improved now.

~ by opusanglicanum on January 12, 2014.

10 Responses to “Collar project”

  1. I’m really liking it now. The shade of green for the foliate border really contrasts nicely with the colour of the fabric.

    Looks like it’s almost done, or are you going to embroider around the neck as well as down the front?

  2. Yes, the light outline picks everything out really well -a good decision!

  3. Yes, it’s holding together well now, and starting to give a good idea of what it will look like finished. Which is, in a word, impressive.

    • it is looking nice, and I really like it, but the trouble is its not really what I want for the silk dress, and although I’ve decided to make a completely separate dress for this I cant quite decide what to make it from, since none of the wools in my stash seems quite right somehow. I really really dont want to buy more cloth for this!

  4. Oh wow! I love weird marginalia, my boyfriends dad bought me an awesome book on it once. But that spider lace. Where did you get it? I am so in love with it! šŸ™‚

    • I got the lace at yarndale, but the company is online at http://www.textilegarden.com – they had some lovely buttons as well

      I’ve wanted to try embrodiering the beakheads ever since we went to a medeival music concert at adel church, which is just about 1/2 mile away, I spent the etire timestaring at the chancel arch

      • Oh wow! That’s my money blown! Such a useful site. I’ve been looking for somewhere that does decent quality trims at reasonable prices in Britain for ages. Thanks! šŸ™‚
        I don’t think I’ve ever seen any of those in a church, but I grew up near Stratford-on-Avon, so lots of gruesome medieval wall paintings in the guildhall chapel there šŸ™‚

      • I’ve seen beakheads on an oxford church, but they’re a very early medeival thing ad dont seem to go much past the c12th.

        I get most trims and things from boyes, but they aren’t online and thier shops are only in the north east, I don know how I’d manage without boyes, cheap and wonderful!

Leave a Reply

 
