collar again

I think the secret to getting pictures of this thing might well be to get Gareth to take them!
collar

This was taken in daylight in the conservatory, and its by far the best so far. I didn’t work on this very much last week because I was running round sorting lots of stuff out for the workshop, but I put in an hour or so a day to take my mind off other things.

I got the border around Granny,

collar granny

and did a green man as well. Greenie isn’t from Adel church but from a few miles down the road in Ripon (sink hole capital of the UK, by all accounts. See, you learn stuff on this blog).

collar green man

I had my doubts about the grotesque collar at first, as I’m sure I mentioned at Christmas, but I’m liking it more and more as I go along. I love the way the colours are working, and the charachter of it.

I’m mean, it’s still not going to end up on the silk dress – the palette is all wrong and I’ve used far too thick a silk for it to work with that particular fabric – but it will look lovely if I can only find the right wool to put it onto. It needs something pretty soft, I think, both in colour and drape. I’m hoping I can find something before too long.

~ by opusanglicanum on February 27, 2014.

2 Responses to “collar again”

  1. I’m glad you’re going to look for a fabric it will work with – I’m sure it will be great fun to wear and start conversations with!

Leave a Reply

 
