lutrell catslug

catslug finished

I’ve signed him as I’m thinking of doing two or three small pieces and framing them, because at certain shows it might be worth having something for sale. Not that I’m putting etsy type halfwitted, cost of the materials times two prices, I’ll be pricing them at a fair hourly rate and anyone who deosn’t appreciate what they’re worth doesn’t deserve one. I’m not what you’d call a motivated seller, it’s more a disinterested experiment. Obviously I’ll be getting him nicely framed.

catslug progress

I was a little worried at first that the two shades of madder on his stripeswere a bit too bright and contrasty, but the couching lines really helped to blend them

~ by opusanglicanum on March 6, 2014.

18 Responses to “lutrell catslug”

  1. He’s adorable!

  2. I really love those stripes – he looks like a proper stripy cat.

  3. Yes, the stripes keep everything harmonised nicely. And what a fine chap he is!

  4. He does have a certain appeal, doesn’t he! Maybe he’s just wondering where his home will be when he’s sold.
    And incidentally, I applaud you for planning to put sensible prices on your pieces. As you say, if they won’t pay a sensible price, they clearly don’t appreciate it!

    • I like him, but then I love things with nice curved shapes. I think you get what you pay for, really, some of the stuff you see on etsy and the like might be cheap, but it’s pretty poorly made. I used to sell a lot of tablet weave to reenactors, and if anyone complained that thtey could buy some for quarter of the price elsewhere, referring to stuff done in four ply nylon knitting yarn rather than my single ply pure wool, I would just tell them that if they honestly couldn’t tell the difference they could just eff off and buy the other stuff.

  5. WOW! I think the catslug is marvelous! I very much like the two shades of madder in there. It gives the little critter a more vibrant, alive look. No, etsy certainly isn’t a place to sell this. He belongs in an art show with a good price on him, as in a price that is worth your time and your skill.

  6. He’s lovely and sinuous, and the stripes are delightfully Cheshire-ish.

    (And I’m another one saying bravo for planning to put a proper price on them. Not that I’d expect any less from you, but still.)

    • He’s a sweet little chap, isn’t he.? To be honest I feel as if need to play with a few individual beasts to get more of a feel for what I want to do with a larger Lutrell piece.

  7. You do some beautiful work! Love your style, unique and historical.

  8. Am I allowed to share this on twitter?

  9. This is fabulous, but I am sure you already knew that! Amazing work.

Leave a Reply

 
