more Lutrell marginalia

I really did try hard to find a reasonable description for this one…

DSC_0255

…but the only thing that seems even remotely reasonable is “arse faced demon”
although possibly, “ex boyfriend beast” becuase every woman ought to have an ex she cringes to think about, it’s an important part of growing up.

I am loving the knobbly knees though

~ by opusanglicanum on March 20, 2014.

28 Responses to “more Lutrell marginalia”

  1. My husband and cats now think I’m nuts because I literally laughed out loud when I saw that. I agree that ‘arse faced demon’ is probably the best name for it.

  2. Goodness! I don’t know what is better, the very neat, fabulous job you did on this rather…well, what were those scribes sniffing back then, anyway?? Just what were they mixing into their paints and inks?…or the name you gave him. I love going to the Getty to see their manuscript exhibits and I’ve seen a lot of twisted, weird beasties in my time, but you hit the jackpot! As ever, beautiful work!

  3. *snerk* I think it’s definitely an estate agent.

    (Also, you have such a lovely rich blue there!)

    • did you buy a house from him?

      I honestly seem to have trouble with blues, no matter what I do I get a mid blue – the pale blues are difficult cos they tend to the streaky, and I never seem to have time to build up enough dips for the darker ones

  4. Barefaced cheek! Marvellous – and beautifully stitched.

  5. I can’t help wondering what ‘substances’ those medievals were enjoying…

    • Everyone wonders that, but it occurred to me that the hallucinogens might not have been recreational, as ergot poisoning was quite common in the grain supply, specially when the harvest was poor, and of course monasteries were amongst the few places to have indoor plumbing – with lead pipes

  6. Well, it seems he’s a very recognisable demon, in spite of his unlikelihood. I hadn’t thought of ergot poisoning as a cause for the peculiarities, but of course you’re right – and what did they use as ink? There are whole categories of harmful substances that were a normal part of life, much more recently than the medieval!

  7. It is, weirdly, both very lovely and deeply disturbing.

  8. I’ve had the Luttrell grotesques on my To-Do list. And now you’re doing them, and doing them SO SO beautifully! However, luckily, I’d be going for long and short stitch, so mine, should I ever get around to doing them, will be different. Bayeaux stitch is a brilliant choice for them – it really suits the way they are shaded.

  9. They are very knobbly knees indeed, aren’t they! And as you say, an almost undescribable demon…

Leave a Reply

 
