worrisit?

I was given this today – I think it’s a tambour hook/needle?

tam

~ by opusanglicanum on April 29, 2014.

24 Responses to “worrisit?”

  1. that is a latch hook needle. you can make wall hangings, rugs, etc. Just look it up.

  2. I don’t think you’d get a latch hook through closely woven fabric. Tambour hooks are more like very fine pointy-ended crochet hooks with straight shafts.

  3. It looks like a latch hook to me, too – although I’ve never seen one that small before!

  4. As mentioned, latch hook. The small ones are also sometimes called “knit picker”, used to fix snags in fine knits. Example in use. In principle, should work for tambour, but maybe not the best tool for the job.

  5. I think it is a latch hook, not a tambour needle. I don’t think that a tambour needle has a little arm, it has a notch and you rotate the needle to catch the thread in the notch, pull it through then rotate back to release the thread. I’ve never done it but once watched a demonstration!

    A latch hook is used in rug making. The latch opens and closes as you push and pull the hook through the canvas. The closed latch holds the wool in place and prevents the hook from catching on the canvas. I have done some rug making, a long time ago. If I remember correctly, you still rotate the hook slightly to ease it through the canvas.

  6. As far as I know it is a rug hook.

  7. It’s a latch hook, but if it’s tiny and has a sharp point, it is used for tambour – type work, only backwards. Instead of going down into the fabric from the top, you push the hook up into the fabric from below. Clover makes a hook like this, for chain stitch, but of course, the handle is plastic and not nearly as pretty!

  8. It’s a tool for fixing pulls in sweaters.

  9. It’s definitely a latch hook not a tambour hook in shape, but it may have been meant for setting on threads for fringes, for turkey-work type Berlin woolwork, or some short-lived craft craze. It would be awkward for picking up dropped stitches in knitting, or for tambouring – the latch would get in the way of a smooth action.

  10. Hi There OpusA
    If the ‘wee’ latch is as small as the 3mm you say – then it is a tambour hook. These are still being used for beading in the couture world. I’ve done some tambour work but never enough to feel particularly efficient at it. You can see lots of examples at the embroiderers ‘Lesage’ (Paris). Sort of an upside down process but it works.
    My own tambour hook has interchangeable needles for different materials held with a set screw.
    Your work is a marvel – I love to see all that you do.
    -Deb

    • It has certainly caused a bit of controversy for something so wee, although is never believed rug or boot hook proposals. I shall definitely have a play with it when I get some time to do so, even though it is a bit outside my usual time period.

      It’s always nice that people like my blog, Gareth still can’t believe that anyone has ever even looked at it when my subject is so obscure- which is a bit rich coming from a man who spends all his net time discussing obscure carnivorous plants!

      • my grandmother has something very similar for fixing holes in nylon stockings, for that it has to be very tiny

      • I’ve a feeling that all these suggestions for using it to fix knitwear etc (cos nylons are essentially knitted) are a later appropriation of the original tool

  11. I have a bunch of those! but not for any sort of craft, but for feathered hair extensions. I recognize the pattern on the little metal collar there.

Leave a Reply

 
