Zodiac, pisces

We haven’t had a zodiac for a while, so here’s pisces
pisces

Colours ended up being difficult for this one. I stuck to the water signs theme for the body, but was unsure at first what to do about the fish in his gob, as I don’t have any silvery grey naturally dyed threads and couldn’t use blue because it would have merged into the background too much. In the end I think the white overworked with blue came out ok though.

And who shall we have for our famous piscean…hmm…ooh, let’s have Kate Greenaway, because I loved her books as a kid, and Elizabeth Barrett Browning.

Do I know any Pisceans??

I started the earth signs with Taurus on Saturday morning, and took him with me to the Leeds symposium on food history because I really do listen better to the lectures when my hands are busy. Ended up talking about embrodiery all day instead of food.

~ by opusanglicanum on May 19, 2014.

12 Responses to “Zodiac, pisces”

  1. What a marvellous seahorse! Clearly the original artist had the curly tailparts described to him and did his best. The blue-spotted fish shows up well, but doesn’t dominate the design – so I reckon you’ve made a very good colour choice there.

  2. Looking fantastic! The white highlights really do give a silvery feel to the overall look of the fish. I listen better when I’m sewing too – pity they won’t let me do that in staff meetings…

  3. I must say I rather like this – oh and I’m on the Aquarius/Pisces cusp – does that count?

  4. He’s lovely. The Medieval Historian is on the Pisces/Aries cusp. Not that he will have any truck with it, of course.

  5. He’s beautiful. He really stands out against the blue background.

  6. He’s turned out beautifully, especially fish!

Leave a Reply

 
