Coursework

To everyone who was insisting at the tullie house workshop yesterday that my caramel shortbread was a cake and not a biscuit, I can authoritatively inform you that you are wrong.

I came back last night and asked Martin about it. Martin is a trained chef and therefore a veritable professor of biscuitology, and he says caramel shortbread is a biscuit, so Nyah Nyah Nyah.

And then when I came home all tired Gareth and his sister, Caz, were trying to persuade me it was a good idea to organise an off peak weekend residential medieval embroidery course at rockside. My brain hurts.

~ by opusanglicanum on July 27, 2014.

17 Responses to “Coursework”

  1. It sounds as you the brain ache is at least in a good cause!

  2. Wow, two of my favorite foods–shortbread and caramel!

    • I think it’s what’s generally called millionaires shortbread, except mines topped with dark chocolate and isn’t as toothachingly sweet as the commercial version. Even back when I could still digest wheat most commercial cakes were far too sweet for me

  3. Sorry to hijack your thread… but… I was wondering…
    I am trying to embroider opus anglicanum split stitch straight into a piece of the lovely silk velvet that I just nought from your good self, and it isn’t going very well. I ended up using 3 times as much filament silk to cover the velvet nap, and it looks a mess.
    Researching the Butler-Bowdon cope at the V&A I see they say that originally 3 layers would have been used: 1 thicker linen layer underneath, a middle layer of silk velvet, and a thinner layer of linen on top. The split stitch was worked through all 3 layers and the excess linen cut away on top afterwards.
    Do you know if this is correct, or have any suggestions as to the best method.
    I see the Syon cope is an all linen ground, but there are copes out there which (it says) were embroidered straight into without appliqué-ing the shapes on afterwards.
    Any info gratefully received… along with samples of caramel shortbread 😉
    Thanks a million

    • I generally work straight onto linen ( although at the moment am using ramie) and then apply it as a slip. Straight onto velvet is messy, very messy. Theiecess where it was embroidered straight onto the velvet are out there but they always seem to wear through a lot quicker. Am tired now, prod me tomorrow

      • GOOD MORNING! 🙂 Sorry, didn’t mean to shout (cap lock on).
        *whispers*.. prod, prod.. What is ramie, do you recommend it, and what do you mean when you say you use it as a slip, please? Mucho gracias
        Ps- caramel shortbread is DEFINITELY a biscuit – goodness, heathens!!!

      • ramie is a vegetable fibre very similar to linen, often used interchangeably with it historically. Its nice and fine and works very well for OA. am planning on using it for the ashmolean class cos I can’t find any suitable linen right now. I prefer a very fine ground fabric used doubled, the ramie works well for this. I can sort you out a fat quarter if you want to try it.

        a slip is where you embroider and then cut very close to applique the embroidery onto velvet and the like, often edeged with couched gold – as in when i finsihed the little head from the tutorial last month

      • Cool, that is great, thank you very much for explaining.
        Yes please to the fat quarter!!
        I was so disappointed the Ashmolean class is full… next time hopefully!
        Found this great link, describing the process detailed by the V&A in more detail:
        http://www.needlenthread.com/2012/08/goldwork-on-velvet-method.html

      • its full?!? eek! no one told me that yet!

        ramie fq is £8 plus post. I can post a prewashed one later this week, or an unwashed one next week (waiting on a new delviery for class)

      • I would like the pre washed one this week please.
        The Ashmolean website says the course is ” sold out”, unless it’s a computer glitch…

      • I’ve emailed Jude and asked her. I knew a few blog people had signed up, but hadn’t realised it would be that popular. I honestly thought that with it being three days it wouldn’t be so popular

  4. PS – Do you sell the linen too?!

  5. I’m Scottish, and have made Millionaire’s shortbread. It’s a biscuit.
    Also isn’t the difference that a cake goes hard when old and a biscuit goes soft? As the base is a form of shorbread, that would go soft if you left it long enough, but usually it got scoffed too quickly to tell.

    • no, I’ve never had any last long enough to go soft either, it’s too yummy. specially if you make it with good dark chocolate

      • The dark chocolate is more of an aquired taste, although I’ve made both. The tricky bit is getting the caramel right, too often it has solidified over a few days into something more like tablet, because I heated it too long.
        There was also a mint caramel variety sold by a bakery in Eyemouth, which was nice.

      • I’ve got no sweet tooth at all, so I simply can’t stomach the milk chocolate version, it needs quite a bitter dark chocolate to work for me. Do you do your caramel with condensed milk? Cos I’ve never had a problem doing it that way. I also make my own salted caramel as a baking ingredient, using double cream, and that stores well in jars without going solid.

        When I was a kid every bakery sold the minty version but it seems to have gone out of fashion, probably cos there are precious few independent bakeries left. The version I knew was more of a mint fondant than a caramel though, am tempted to play now!

Leave a Reply

 
