Fairytale coat again

Ok, so August may well end up being a historic embroidery free month here on the blog, becuase all the historical stuff I have to do is hush hush not internet. Normal service will resume in September, and in the mean time you’ll have to make do with a weekly fairytale coat update.

This week I worked the bottom right hand back of the coat.

fairytale back right

Very small billy goats gruff on the bridge, gingerbread house, toadstools, red riding hood and a random fairy.

fairytale back comp

I feel like it still needs something – or maybe it doesn’t. I’m going to step back and work on another panel next, and come back to this and see how I feel about it at the assembly stage. I think theres a fine line between enough and too much. It might be easier to make these sorts of decision if you’re the sort of person who doesn’t plan things out on the back of envelopes, and then loose the envelope…

ugh, and no silver this week. I spent two days making a filigree knob for a chalice. I was pretty much at the upper limits of my skill and melted it at the last hurdle, no idea wehre to go with it now. also a bit…harumph

~ by opusanglicanum on July 31, 2014.

10 Responses to “Fairytale coat again”

  1. If the coat is to wear when performing for kids, or something like that, I would think that the more detail there is, the better – kids love to see something that they think no one else will have.
    If it’s for yourself to wear as yourself, then – whatever level of detail you feel like!

  2. The detail is enchanting – I love that you have to look closely at it and every time you do, there’s another detail to admire. The dragon’s pose is very Smaug-like. very different and works perfectly. I have a silver ring where the final solder was perfect, right until I left the flame on it a millisecond too long… So I feel for you!

    • To be honest I was never sure the filigree knob was going to work. I have a feeling the original May have stabilised with clay or some kind of gum, but I’m just not sure how. I would, however, have preferred catastrophic failure at an earlier stage of proceedings…

      • But Sod’s Law says it always has to happen at the worst possible time… Could you possibly stabilise it with Delft clay? It packs nice and solid and would be relatively easy to remove.

      • I was thinking delft clay, but I’ve never soldered against it so I wasn’t sure. I might try it next week when I’m feeling a little less dispirited

  3. Your coat is beautiful! If you decide that it needs a little something extra, perhaps you could add some details in the sky that the dragon is flying in? Stars, clouds, anything!

  4. I once heard a professional embroiderer say that amateurs stop too soon and professionals go on adding stuff – she said it much less pompously but this is the jist. I think you should connect the images around the hem up towards the dragon. A few trees?

    • Hmmm…I don’t know how much truth there is in that, since there is as much skill in knowing when to stop. I want this to have a sort if polished naivitie if that makes any sense? The style I’m starting from is what I’d call my pickle patch style, which is quite flat and simplistic. I did think yesterday that maybe a beanstalk reaching up would work, but the only spot it would work in is already taken by the cottage.

      I did also think of illustrating a Calvino tale called the science of laziness near the river on the horizon, but I think it’s too obscure and would have to be too small

Leave a Reply

 
