Silly Sunday skirt.

I think the quilters will agree with me that printed cotton is the crack cocaine of the fabric world. I don’t even quilt but I always think “ohh I’m sure I could find a use for half a metre or so of that, and it’s sooooo cheap”

Compared to the wools I use for costume, the £4 a metre stuff on leeds market is like sweeties.

This is why Gareth ends up with so many mad shirts.

Also, lots of little leftover bits that I don’t have the heart to throw out. So at the beginning of summer I started sewing them together to make a ruffly skirt.

Honestly, I think there’s a mad skirt gene running down my mothers side of the family.

image

I did take this to our neighbour, Charlotte, yesterday, because unlike me Charlotte is a proper seamstress who actually knows what she’s doing. I asked her if she thought it was too foofy.

She said no. I think she may have been having a laugh at my expense.

But it has- Asparagus, Buttons, COws, Dolls house furniture, Elephants, Foxes, Greenhouse windows, Hearts, Iced cakes, Killer bees, Liquorice all sorts, Maps, Notions with which to sew, Old postage stamps, Poultry, Questionable florals, Russian dolls, Safety pins, Tape measures, Union jacks, Various polka dots, Wheels, X-rayed dinosaurs, and Zoo.

Amongst others

image

~ by opusanglicanum on September 14, 2014.

15 Responses to “Silly Sunday skirt.”

  1. Ohhhh, it’s brilliant I love it. Not foofy at all.

  2. Everyone needs clothes to be happy in. That looks like the perfect skirt for cheering up a dull day or a boring trip around the supermarket. I’d love it.

  3. I love it, I want it, I am prepared to take up the flamenco just to wear it. And you can join the, oh, it’s only a fat quarter support group any time you want to.

    • I was thinkng cancan, but thats probably because I’m a bt of a slapper.

      trouble is I dont buy fat quarters, I buy yards because I shop at boyes (where they think £5 per metre for pure cotton is a bit expensive) and leeds market, where stuff is so cheap the ladies get grumpy is you ask for half a metre and I suspect they’d lean over the counter and smack you with a bolt of cloth if you asked for a fat quarter

  4. Gorgeous and I hope you are not going to wait for every ‘Silly Sunday’ to come round before you wear it! x

  5. It looks fabulous – and there will be no one else with a skirt even remotely like it!

  6. It’s not too foofy, but it definitely is a mad skirt! (and a very great one).
    Now I want fabric with x-rayed dinosaurs, preferrably a jersey fabric so I can make my daughter a shirt out of it. 🙂

  7. I love it! That must be so much fun to wear! I could make one using scraps from the 40-some Hawaiian shirts that I’ve made for my husband! It is like a history of your personal sewing projects. How big is the finished hem?

Leave a Reply

 
