christmas tree pendant

Last year I rang my dad and asked him if my stepmum, Janet, had pierced ears. He swore she did and so I made her some cute little Christmas tree earrings.

Except that Janet does not have pierced ears.

It’s taken me all year to think what to make as a replacement

tree1tree janet

Sorry about the dodgy photos. I meant to ask Gareth to take some proper photos but I forgot, so waht you see hear are some very dodgy efforts with my mobile on something thats fundamentally hard to photograph.

I wanted to play with backsetting, which is something I hadn’t done before, and it had to be glass for the colour. Handmade glass for that lovely subtle texture. It took me ages to track down a stained glass person to cadge glass from and then it turned out there was a lady called Mia living down the street, who very kindly cut three pieces for me.

Mia’s website is herehttp://www.babulousglass.co.uk/

I’m moderately pleased with this piece, but delighted with the other one I’ve used for Janet’s this year’s Christmas present (which I can’t show you yet because Janet reads this to my dad). Haven’t had time to play with the third yet…

~ by opusanglicanum on December 18, 2014.

8 Responses to “christmas tree pendant”

  1. That’s gorgeous. Is the glass that deep amber colour in reality?

  2. That’s a lovely present, and the red just glows through.

  3. Yes, the light just glows through the glass – gorgeous!

  4. Beautiful! I’d put one on a chain and wear it as a necklace.

Leave a Reply

 
