zodiac, libra

libra

Libra, the final sign of the zodiac, so that’s all twelve done now. I’d like to get on with the four seasons for the corners, but in order to get the size of those right I need to assemble the twelve signs into a wheel (the seasons go in the corners to make the compostition square), and I can’t do that until I have some tablet weave for the raw edges. I was going to use the brown left over from the labours hanging, but I’ve decided that red, possibly with a little yellow wave would be better – the same red that I’ve used to pick out the details in each sign – it will tie the whole thing together better and reflect the rays of the sun from the centre. In other words the final phase is waiting on me getting a bit of weavng done, which will take a few weeks due to, you know, life and stuff.

I can’t remember who, but someone asked me a while back if I’d do patterns of these, and at the time I thought not, but I’ve been thinking that maybe I will, as well as patterns for the lutrell beasts as I work on the hanging. The patterns will have to be a little more involved that the average pdf pattern as there will have to be three sheets. Zodiac will need a basic outline, a shade diagram, and a stitch direction guide. I’m going to do them house by house, so three patterns at once, but due to the new Vatmoss regs although I can list them on folksy I can’t do direct downloads without having to register for vat, so it will be a case of paying and then emailing the pdf in a direct email, which folksy says negates the need to do vatmoss.

anyway, I’ll let you know in a few weeks. I figure it’s worth the experiment, you never know who’s going to be interested in stuff this wierd. (Gareth still boggles at the fact anyone reads this blog at all, when I started it he thought it was just to esoteric to get a single reader, so thanks for proving him wrong, folks!)

Gareth s also making fun of me because as I was driving through Lanchester on Tuesday, I screeched to a halt outside the tiny hardware shop and rushed in to make a purchase. It’s one of those old fashioned wooden concertina clothes airers, and it was only £20. I didn’t even know they made them anymore, and Gareth can make all the cracks he likes about me saving up for one of them fancy new mangles next, but my wooden thingy is far more solid than the infernal wire contraption for Argos that kept falling over every five minutes.

And it’s not just me, the nice man in the shop says he sells out of them as fast as he can stock them.

~ by opusanglicanum on January 29, 2015.

6 Responses to “zodiac, libra”

  1. Heavens, those clothes dryers are sold over here, even in Walmart (which did surprise me; I figured it wouldn’t be *that* common but there you go). Nothing esoteric about them.

    I love your blog; I’ve learned a lot from it about embroidery!

  2. I’m an avid reader of your interesting blog! 🙂

  3. We have two of those wooden airers, and I wouldn’t be without them.
    I’m glad to be helping you boggle Gareth’s mind!

    • I think his mind is easilt boggled by anything tthat isn’t science, to be honest, he lived in cambridge for so long in a little academic bubble, that I’m the only person he knows who isn’t a scientist

Leave a Reply

 
