nearly there

striped dress

I feel I’ve been quite lazy not to have this completely finished yet- it still need the lower body stripe to be filled in at the sides.

I’m still in two minds about the top shoulder stripe as well. On the one hand I think it will be somewhat rugby-shirt-like, which is kind of the last thing someone as broad shouldered as myself needs, but on the other I don’t think it will look right to it’s period without. My other concern with the stripe is technical though, as it would be on an odd angle and may well not sit right. After having gone to great trouble to get the silk lying nicely against the wool (not an easy feat) I don’t want to cock it up by doing the shoulders poorly. I suppose I can always do them and unpick if they’re really terrible- the idea is to wear it under a cloak most of the time anyway, so the shoulders shouldnt show much.

ASs you can see my stripes are in pairs, and are not quite evenly spaced. The gap between the bottom set of stripes and the middle is much less than the gap between the middle and the top as I allowed for the gathering caused by the belt.

I promise that with the finished dress, not only will I use an entire lint roller before taking the pic (there’s like half a branston smeared on that thing at the moment) but I will post at least one of my inspiration pics (they’re on my other computer)

It amuses me enormously that a fair few people are going to look at this dress and assume my design choice was necessitated by a need to be parsimonious with expensive silk. In reality there are two and a half metres of silk here (the design meant a lot of offcuts to get neat rows of lions) and two and three quarter metres of wool. Although I got the wool as a remnant, buying hainsworths full price would actually cost more per metre than this silk- the same quality wool would also have been expensive in the medeival period. Basically, it would have been cheaper, a lot quicker, and considerably easier to make a silk dress!

~ by opusanglicanum on March 9, 2015.

9 Responses to “nearly there”

  1. I love it! … as always! … you are brilliant! Whatever you decide about the shoulders will be perfect. Thank you for sharing your journeys with us.

    • thanks – think I need a new viel with it as well though. I’m going to go with nice boil washable linen, because all my beautiful silk veils for this period never wash well and look grubby

  2. It does look gorgeous. If you think of the pattern as being stripe-stripe-gap, then your sleeve top would need no more than a tiny bit of stripe at the very top, rather than a whole stripe with the same spacing as the two below. I think that’s much less rugby-shirt-like than evenly spaced stripes would be.

    • the trouble s that I did the sleeves first, and I think what it really needs to look right is for the top body stripe to continue around the arm in an unbroken band – a bit rugger and tricky to achieve because of the shape of the upper sleeve. ‘m going to have a go later, so we’ll see

  3. Anything that involves making two completely different fabrics “play nice” together is always much harder than the uninitiated realise, isn’t it it!
    I rather like the look of it, I must say!

  4. in washing the silk veils – have you tried adding white vinegar to the rinse water? It gets any remnants of the soap out which is often what adds a grey or yellow tinge to the fabric.

  5. Sorry this is not about the topic your talking about. We have talk before about you were going to be selling some of your Medieval needlework patterns and I was wondering how that was coning along. I could not find your little shop this time did you take that of your blog? Thank you, Sandra

    • Te folksy shop is the second button down, with a griffin. There isn’t much in it at the moment. Patterns will be available to order within a month or so, I’ve been a bit busy lately, but I haven’t forgotten!

Leave a Reply

 
