Sleeping beauty?

Happy chocolate day!

I found three shades of the same rose leaf print, and made Gareth an Easter shirt. ( he won’t get his second Easter shirt til later in the week because the fabric for it didn’t turn up until yesterday)
image
And I love the pewter Tudor rose buttons I found at duttons
image

However, although I like the shirt, I have to admit that one of the cuff buttonholes is hands down the worst buttonhole I’ve ever produced. It just kept going wrong. First it tangled at the back, which I eventually figured out was caused by the under shuttle beginning to run out, and then the replacement thread started shredding. In all I unpicked and redid the one buttonhole three times over the span of an hour. The final one is ok, and just had to stand becuase the underlying fabric was in danger of disintegrating

But, on the bright side, I have wonderwoman socks!
image

~ by opusanglicanum on April 5, 2015.

8 Responses to “Sleeping beauty?”

  1. Love that fabric!

  2. I’m beginning to think I should make a trip to Leeds. The market sounds well worth a rummage!
    Expensive buttons and such trims make the whole thing look more expensive, haven’t you noticed…?

    • I like the market for food, but there are four fabric stall, plus Sam Taylor’s shop just outside. If you come by car it’s worth trundling out to bonds in suburban farsley as well

      I love finding buttons that tie to the theme of the shirt, Gareth doesn’t get it

Leave a Reply

 
