Maneki-neko

I found this gorgeous cotton dobby with maneko-neko on it.
image

From which I made a nice, but fairly boring, skirt for myself.

Then I found out it was also available in taupe, indigo, and chocolate, so I made Gareth a shirt.

image

He hasn’t seen it yet, he’s been out walking with a friend all day. I hope he likes it.

But then what’s not to like about a polychrome shirt of auspicious felines?

I had ordered paw buttons, but in the end I decided the coconut shell ones went better with the colour and texture of the fabric. It means the buttonholes are a little over large because I made them for the paws, but Gareth will probably like the plain ones better, he’s kind of boring that way

image

Thing is, now I want to order more fabric, because I neeeeed another skirt in stripes of all four colours.

~ by opusanglicanum on April 7, 2015.

18 Responses to “Maneki-neko”

  1. And the skirt can have flaps on patch pockets in the contrast colours – with paw buttons.

  2. That’s beautiful! I love maneki-neko. I need to find some of that fabric. It would make a great kimono style robe.

    And… a man who wears shirts of four fabrics with cute kitties on it draws the line at paw buttons? 😉

  3. Now I want to order some to make curtains for my kitchen.

  4. I think your choice of plaing buttons was wise, the shirt is colorful enough and the paw buttons would have wanted some attention of their own.
    The shirt looks lovely, although way too colorful that I would dare to wear it. 🙂

  5. Hiding this from my Japanophile and cat-loving daughters…

  6. How wonderful! I am not surprised you need one too 🙂

  7. I’m sure that you will find a use for the paw buttons! And Gareth is sure to like the shirt – as you say, how could he not?

  8. Order it – you deserve it.

Leave a Reply

 
