Pretty colours

It’s fairly boring doing all the little skeins, but they do look pretty once they’re done.

image

So, if anyone would like to come play with them this weekend I think there are still spaces at the Weald and downland, or alternately I’ve listed a bundle of ten in my folksy shop (see the buttons in the side bars)

And I’m really looking forward to playing with the skeins I dyed up for tablet weave. I think the pale second wash madder was the right choice to contrast the darker colours

image

~ by opusanglicanum on April 17, 2015.

14 Responses to “Pretty colours”

  1. They look fabulous in the basket – there is just something about skeins of thread all packed together, like lovely jewels…

  2. So inspiring! My dye plants turned out to be a bit of a flop. Woad and Weld didn’t germinate, Indigo turned out to be a weed, Henna died (if it was henna) and the jury is out on the seedling I think might or might not be madder. In short I got a lesson in buying seeds online. I have decided to run with NZ natives and proven plants like gorse instead.
    Heading to folksy store next week. πŸ™‚

    • I had the same problems with woad, I live near the sea so all the leaves blew off. For years I had to use indigo but luckily woad is being grown commercially again. Oddly enough, Gareth just ordered seeds of eucalyptus cinneria( at least I think that was the variety) be causes he’s intrigued by the idea of using it as a red dye. He’s very good at exotics though…

  3. Those colours look truly scrumptious!

  4. Gorgeous colours!

    I very much wish I could come along to another of your courses. Ah well, perhaps next year. I really need to visit the Weald and Downland sometime, anyway…

  5. A rainbow in a basket. So tempting.

  6. love to share some of your pictures on my Medieval Housewives facebook page – would that be ok? http://www.facebook.com/medievalhousewives

Leave a Reply

 
