Border two

image

 

This is one so from the Winchester psalter, c12th. Lot less gold on this one, and to be honest I’m not quite sure about the pearl, which is in the place of a little fleur in the original.

that pale blue is a right wierd colour. It looks sky blue on the roll, but is more of a steel colour sewn. I haven’t said anything about it to Gareth because I got a long lecture on chromatography the other day when I mentioned colour, and I don’t want to provoke him again.

~ by opusanglicanum on May 20, 2015.

8 Responses to “Border two”

  1. Interesting border, with that gap in the edge where the stems curl up. I like looking at patterns like this that don’t *quite* fit our modern sense of balance and order. The colours seem to suit it well, being also just a little unexpected. I feel I want the pearl lower, between the leaves, but that would look too much like an eye at first glance. Yes, it’s an interesting one.

  2. Colour perception is a very weird thing!
    I think the pearl would be more convincing in a complete border, rather than just alone as one of the stages. The medieval period wasn’t one for minimalists, after all!

  3. What about a cabochon garnet?

    • Stones fixed to embroidery in medieval stuff are bezel set first though, so that takes planning. And also being able to be bothered, which I’m not sure I can in this case

  4. I would love to see the backs of some of these works of art some day …

Leave a Reply

 
