Installation

image

Sunday morning I got into the ashmolean early, so I laced up a pile of frames.

It occurred to me that if I was a modern artist I would now write some waffle artspeak about the tension between the canvas and the frame as a metaphor for unexplored creative potential, call it an installation, and leave it at that.

It also occurred to me that if I did that, I would be making considerably more money.

~ by opusanglicanum on May 25, 2015.

7 Responses to “Installation”

  1. Ah, Documentation!
    When I was at display college, we often had to cover pieces of softboard with felt to make supports for projects. On a college outing to the Tate, we saw a board covered in plain blue felt hanging on the wall. This was not waiting for something to be put on it, this was the Artwork. We all left the gallery feeing that somehow we were in the wrong business. (Actually, I was, but that’s another story.)
    I had my little rant on Art (the industry) long ago: https://suetortoise.wordpress.com/2011/05/16/non-representational/
    I hope that you got a huge buzz from your workshop and that everyone attending it left feeling happy, confident and inspired.

  2. The clue is in your word choice – I suspect you couldn’t write any suitably waffly “artspeak”, still less repeat it aloud with a straight face. Critics don’t like it if you laugh at them!

  3. Not necessarily.

  4. Now I know why I’m so happy that you are no “modern artist”.
    It’s not that you wouldn’t deserve earning more money from your art, but I love your embroidery more than any “modern art”.

Leave a Reply

 
