princess crown planning

After some consideration I decided to slightly tone down my plans for the princess crown, parlty because the deadline to finish it has moved up from October to mid-August, but mainly because I was worried the tall spikes on the first crown would be too prone to damage with the intended use.

Instead I’m going with this c13th hungarian one, which is not only shorter and hopefully sturdier, but it’s a panel and hinge construction so it can’t really get bent out of shape horizontally either.

220px-Funeral_Crown_of_Stephen_V_Hungarian_King

I’m going to enamel the flowers, four white and four sky blue. I’m not certain if the original flowers were enamel or not – some pics look like they have traces of enamel but I can’t find any decent documentation. It’s a period thing to do though, and I want this crown to be as deliberately girly as possible.

I’ve been studying the photos, and from what I can see of the back, some of the stones are rivet mounted and some aren’t, which leads me to think maybe a lot of the rivets are repairs. I’ve decided to direct solder where possible, but make a couple of extra rivet mounts, maybe half a dozen, and have then gilded at the same time as the crown – that way when I inevitably end up having to repair it after some brat throws it to the ground I can repair it easily.

I got my silver today, and did a scale drawing of the panels to use as template for cutting (I just doodled a flower over the top) and spent time playing with my gem stash to see what I had. It would be nice to go shopping for extra stones but I really don’t have time to drive to huddersfield any time soon.

DSC_1102 DSC_1103 DSC_1104

I’m going to go with the pink tourmaline beads for the flower centres, they’ll go well with both enamel colours. Many medeival gems were indian imports and were originally beads, so I love when I find a bead I can cabachon set as it adds that extra touch.

for the fleurs four will be three pearls with a central amethyst, and four three amethyts with a central pearl, then lower down I’ve got some corals, citrine beads, and triangular garnets that ought to be suitably girly.

I am bit miffed with myself though, because when I was stash rootling I somehow managed to send a pair of rather nice, rather expensive peridots flying across the room, and I haven’t yet tracked them down. sweary words were said…

 

~ by opusanglicanum on June 22, 2015.

8 Responses to “princess crown planning”

  1. I don’t think I could bear the idea of all this work being thrown across the room by some bratty pre-teen… I do like the look of it.

    • is it just me or are kids getting brattier?

      • No, not just you. Although I remember thinking that first years at Uni were a good deal brattier than we had been, when I was only a second year!

      • Erm, I remember being in first year and thinking most of my fellow students were idiots- I was in charge of handouts and they couldn’t cope with ” take one and pass them along”

      • I do remember looking around the canteen and thinking “They told me the top 10% got to Uni. If this is the top 10%, God help us all!”
        But then, at 18, I was dying of old age. I’ve youthened since then!

      • Yes, but they’ve really dumbed university down since then. Gareth had a brief stint teaching at another university ( mid range, not an ex poly) and reckoned that thier three year genetics degree was one six week undergrad unit from his degree. I mean, he went to cambridge, but still…

      • Maybe it’s always been going on. When Colin went to Cambridge to do his PhD in Maths , he had first to do “Part Three” which is a sort of bonus year that was once for those who hadn’t done their first degree there, but is now required of everyone. It used to be year three of a three year degree, but after a while they found they could only get through Part One and Part Two in three years…

      • Gareth said the maths part his science degree was terrifying. But then I had to do Latin and Greek from nothing to a level standard in 18 weeks as an undergrad at Newcastle, which was also pretty traumatic…

Leave a Reply

 
