De Montfort

As well as the princess crown I’m prepping some costume for the battle of Evesham in a few weeks time. Instead of our usual portrayal of king Richard the lionheart we will be depicting the court of the old king henry in captivity to de Montfort. We will use the kings livery within the court but we also need a couple of guards in de Montfort livery, and john will be going onto the battlefield in a non combative role, for which he will also have to wear his captors livery.

i started Sunday lunchtime and I’ve just now finished the applique

image

Two are edged with silver leather, the one for john has gold, since I figure de Montfort would have wanted to emphasise that he had a king in his retinue.

image.

I think I’m going to cheat and spray these with fabsil to stainproof them. The line behind each lion, btw, is a false seam, which I routinely use on surcotes as it gives a small seam allowance for the split front and back, thus avoiding any clumsiness at the top of the split.

that red wool is quite sturdy, so my fingers are sore now. I’m going to get dressed and have some me time with a trip into leeds to see the new tailoring exhibition at the museum, and lunch at cafe moor. This afternoon I’ll machine the carcasses together, but I think I’ll give my fingers a few days to recover before I hem them by hand.( actually, if I end up pushed for time this wool is fine un hemmed, so it’s not a priority)

~ by opusanglicanum on July 21, 2015.

8 Responses to “De Montfort”

  1. Oh dear lord woman! What do I have to do to get you to make me something beautiful?! 😀

  2. Looking good. I think you’re right about de Montfort swanking about with a king in his retinue!

  3. Do you ever rest?

Leave a Reply

 
