Wilfred Manykecks, the Yorkshire flamingo

You can tell Wilfred is a Yorkshire Flamingo because not only is he wearing trousers, but he’s also wearing thermals and an extra set of thermals. He’s a belt and braces lad is our Wilf, and you can’t be too careful, the weather in Otley can be very unpredictable, expecially in July.

You see here a holiday snap from his annual trip to Ilkley moor, hence the lack of flat cap…

wilf

When I roll the frame along Wilf will get blue wings because Yorkshire weather.

The original bird wearing many trousers is a far more tasteful sort of pale tan, but as I was rootling through my wools my hand fell on this glorious rose pink (a cochineal exhaust) and Wilf became a flamingo because the idea amused me. I am trying not to stray too far from the original colours most of the time because they have an intrinsic harmony, but I’m hoping that when the big reveal comes I won’t be too annoyed with myself for the odd bit of playfullness.

~ by opusanglicanum on July 23, 2015.

18 Responses to “Wilfred Manykecks, the Yorkshire flamingo”

  1. Wilf definitely made me smile this morning.

  2. I like his story, and the pink is far too gorgeous not to adorn him. Does he have telescopic legs, I wonder?.

  3. Now that snap is worthy of a postcard or notecard! Very fashionable, our Wilfy. As always, I am super impressed with your stitchery.

    • I was thining I’d get a card done of the whole thing once it’s finished, eventually a set of cards cos I plan on there being a series of lutrell fantasies, this is only number one

  4. I enjoy your playfulness and Wilf seems a sensible bird. I bet he’s looking for his scarf which by rights should be wrapped inside his very pretty pink turtleneck one-piece 🙂

    • he says it’s sky blue pink with yellow dots on

      • That’s the first time I’ve come across anyone apart from my mother calling something “sky blue pink with yellow dots on”. Thank you!

        And of course Wilf is a sensible fellow. He’s Yorkshire after all!

      • it was one of my granda’s favourite, that and bobby dazzler, and gallowa- which was what he called horses, i think it’s a corruption of galloway, where horses were bred, but I’ve never been 100% sure

      • I’ve not come across “gallowa”, but “bobby dazzler” is current family usage, again picked up from my Mam..

      • I never heard gallowa from anyone other than my granda, and his friend jackiebell. jackie bell kept a cleveland bay brood mare called duchess on a meadow of granda’s, I idolised her. jackiebell was a tiny retired miner who lived alone, and duchess was never ridden or put to a cart and I think she was the love of his life – he didn’t groom her, he polished her until she shone like a copper penny. Every two years she hd a foal, and I would go bother poor jackie bell for days on end (I did enough talking for both of us cos he was a taciturn soul) always going home with a warm bantam egg in each hand. sometimes I’d be allowed to ride duchess round the meadow, but of course there was no saddle or bridle, and she was usually so enourmous with pregnancy my legs wouldn’t go round her – I sort of balanced on top and whenever she felt me sliding off she’d move herself back underneath me, I always got the impression she regarded me as one of her foals, she was such a sweet gentle mare.

      • such sense of haute couture!

      • he’s a dedicated follower of fashion is our wilf

  5. ‘Sky blue pink with yellow dots on’ a frequent expression in my house growing up. Isn’t Gallower, or however it is spelled, standard Geordie for horse? Not to mention ‘cuddy’ for donkey.

    • cuddy I heard frequently as a child (I’m very disappointed that the kicking cuddy pub in coxhoe has been given a new, bland name, I feel I can never go there now) but I never heard gallowa from anyone but granda and his friend

  6. Love Wilf. What are the stitches you used to fill the body outlines?

Leave a Reply

 
