crown progress

crown and flower

I’ve got all eight panels done now, mostly in the last couple of days. The hinges need fiddling with to straighten them up a bit, and some polishing still needs looking at, but otherwise the body of the thing is ready to go off and be hallmarked and plated.

The flowers are ready for enamel, but I’m waiting for my new ultrasonic bath to arrive, I want to see if it makes a difference to pre-cleaning. I textured the edges of the flowers in imitation of those on the original crown, and I’m hoping it will help the enamel adhere – I ran over the ptelas with a rough burr for the same reason.

Ooooh! and I tried something new and it blew my mind. I’ve always used strip solder because that’s what you’re taught to use in class, but I’d always been curious about the stuff that comes premixed with flux in a syringe so I treid it. Totally worth the extra money. Easier to use, you can be really econimical with it, it doesn’t bubble, you can put it exactly where you want it with no waste, plus it’s upped my sucess rating with soldering bezel rings to about 99%.

ANd I made these as well,

c13th annulare

The big one is for JOhn, and will have three shell cameos, two black opals, and one blue opal. The smaller one is for me, and will have whatever will fit into those bezels, which I found made up in a tin and couldn’t remember what they were for so I used them. These annular brooches really give a c13th look, these are quite big, but the originals range from a few inches across to about half an inch.

And I repaired this one by replacing the silver pin with a steel one

c12th cloak br

Although I’m quite concerned that I can’t find his twin anywhere – they were made as a pair to be worn on the shoulders of a cloak. It would be annoying if I’ve lost one of them because those huge peridots in the middle were expensive, even if they do look like half sucked sweeties

~ by opusanglicanum on July 24, 2015.

10 Responses to “crown progress”

  1. Love the sound of that solder – doesn’t flip off when you lower the torch to it either, I bet…

  2. Only solder I am thoroughly experienced with is Multicore from my electronics factory days. That behaved itself, but circuit boards are not exactly silversmithing. I’m glad you’ve found one that you really like. If you have to do less rework and stay happier and more relaxed, then the extra cost will be well worth it. The crown looks really pretty in silver, especially with the un-enamelled delicate flower on it.

    • I did consider leAVing it silver, but alas it wouldn’t be very authentic. And I’d have to polish it a lot and I hates housework in all it’s forms.

      If I had a butler it would be ok…

  3. I really enjoy your blog, so I have nominated you for a Liebster Award, (which you are free to accept or refuse.) The Liebster Award is basically an award that is by bloggers, for bloggers. It’s passed from person to person to encourage connection and support within our writing community, and to aid in the discovery of new and upcoming bloggers. Thanks for the great blog!

  4. It’s always wonderful to find a piece of equipment or a material that eases a job, and I do like the look of the crown panel!

Leave a Reply

 
