Umming and aaahing

John will be playing the old king henry in captivity at the battle of Evesham in a couple of weeks, so I’ve been making him a new silk tunic. I’d dearly have loved to make one of the ones with a dagged hem that are shown in some contemporary manuscripts, but I think it would be too young and foppish for a man henrys( and johns) age, so I’ve gone for a solid skirt instead.

image

Im going to have to leave the hem plain, as I have nothing suitable. The cuffs I’m going to decorate with this silk

image

I was originally going to do some gold brocaded tablet weave, but I’ve come to the conclusion that it would be too delicate against the bold brocade, so I decided to use this instead. Which is annoying because the black was meant to be for me. Sigh. I’ll use either two of three rows of roundels and edge it with pearls.

its the neck I’m having a bit of a quandary over. Part of me want to do the brocaded tablet weave and use a neck like the one on roger of sicilys tunic

https://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/asset-viewer/the-tunicella/pQGDjCcHWrAiig?hl=en

However, the more sensible part of me says firstly that this is a bit exotic for the context, and secondly we would be back to the problem of the decoration being to delicate for the brocade, so I should just do a round or t shaped neck and edge it with a row of black roundels

maybe I’m quibbling because this would leave less of the black for me to play with? It’s a very small piece

~ by opusanglicanum on July 28, 2015.

8 Responses to “Umming and aaahing”

  1. I sympathise – the neckline in that tunic does look interesting, but I think works better against a plain fabric – or else in a very plain, stark braid or fabric against the fabric you have…

    • I do have some lovely dark blue silk, and I was thinking of doing a version of the roger tunic with it if I can have enough leftover of the brocade for a row round the bottom( Rees none of e brocade left from johns piece, but I have another for a dress for me)

  2. I agree that the small neckline would be a bit lost against that busy brocade, but it won’t distract from the wearer’s face as much as roundels. So you have a choice: do you want a balanced tunic (all roundels), or a will the whole person in costume allow the small neckline say little but just be a neat edge?

  3. Oh my. Swooning. Though, um, yeah, I think you’d be doing a tablet woven neckline an injustice by making it fight against that brocade for attention.

    I saw the heraldry and thought “but isn’t that Richard of Cornwall?”, but wikipedia reassures me it’s not, so I’ve had my 13th c politics refresher for the day too πŸ™‚

  4. I am so glad I followed your link and learned about the Google Cultural Institute, and now I can explore the textiles there! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
