sneeeky peek

DSC_1154

I’m beginning to wonder if I should have had the central mounts (the ones with the big pink topazes in) gilded as well, but perhaps I’ll feel differently once I’ve made them shinier?

I’s a bi of a toss up, to be honest. The topazes are quite translucent, so gilding the mounts would maybe make them look a bit orange, keeping them silver lets the pink stay pink.

There is something about that blue and white enamel that just looks outrageously medeival though

~ by opusanglicanum on August 4, 2015.

10 Responses to “sneeeky peek”

  1. Ooooh! Now I see what you have planned. Very nice!

  2. Indeed it does. I think you are right not to have gilded the mounts for the topazes, but to be honest, as long as it shines the little girls will be happy.
    Maybe childhood taste is more medieval than modern adult taste?

  3. Yes, outrageously medieval! I like the way the mix of stones balances out. It does look like royal treasure. (Mind you, when I was a kid I was happy with a crown of gold cardboard with fruit-gums glued onto it.)

  4. I am, as ever, gobsmacked by your talents.

  5. Wow! I can understand your problem, and I would leave the mounts un-gilded because orangey topaz stones wouldn’t be as cool as the pink ones.

    I’m assuming that gilding the mounts would gild the inside and the outside. Is that right?

Leave a Reply

 
