Evesham

I didn’t get any pictures of little princesses wearing the crown as I don’t like having a camera in costume. Instead I bring you pics taken before and after the official opening times.

carnac, the kings page, decided to commit treason by trying on the royal regalia whilst his majesty was getting dressed. As I was taking this his dad was hissing ” he’s behind you!”

image

The authentically faked ermine on johns crown cap worked well. It’s the white squirrel bellies that were left over from trimming my silk velvet gown with little bits of black fur inserted at intervals. I’ve read this was sometimes done in period when real ermine was in short supply or just too expensive.

image

Johns next project is new shoes, he wants a pair with gold leaf, I will nag him until he does it. I was interested in how this tunic hung around the neck because when I made it I was in two minds whether to make the neck as a plain round or a slight vee. In the end I went for round, but as soon as we put a hefty brooch on it it became the vee shape I’ve seen in portraits. This makes me wonder if the vee existed at all- especially since this brooch is only silver gilt, whereas a solid gold one would be far heavier.

image

John liked the cloak, but we’ve agreed to invest in enough plates of squirrel to make two cloaks because he really should have a fur lining, and so should I. We are going to do one cloak at a time because of the expense though, so his will be first.

image

Slightly blurry shot shot with two of the lads from bifrost guard, who were our guards for the weekend. John has some better ones so I’ll try and post one later. We kept trying to marry them off all weekend but nobody wanted them.

I had fun compering the fashion show, so thanks to the musician for his fanfares, and conquest, bifrost guard, dawn of chivalry, king Edwards living history company and the other ladies whose group name I’ve forgotten for being my sexy models.

several people remarked that the tent looks like a palace, to which my first response was “good, that’s what it should look like” and second, ” I’m not finished yet, it needs more bling”.

there were several little princes who tried on the princess crown. More than one person suggested I also make a prince crown, and I’ll admit my internal monologue was thinking ” ffs, how many crowns does one woman need to make in her life, I’m already up to six or seven!”

~ by opusanglicanum on August 10, 2015.

13 Responses to “Evesham”

  1. It looks like a brilliant event. While I have enjoyed watching the crown being made, and wasn’t sure about the trim on John’s tunic, now I think he looks the most regal and medieval.

  2. The detail of the round becoming a Vee once the brooch was in place is the sort of thing that makes re-enacting enlightening as well as bringing scholarship to life.
    And yes, very regal indeed!

    • It’s one of those things you wouldn’t realise until you made the thing, and probably a lot of folks wouldn’t realise even then because they don’t wear the right kind of bling with it

  3. Gorgeous. Both the costumes and the gentlepersons wearing them.

  4. I am feeling all impressed at how wonderful your stuff looks, which is extremely wonderful, but frankly, I’m even more jealous about the Evesham event. (These days I’m most interested in the later thirteenth century, but back when I were a lass it was Henry III and Louis IX all the way…) There’s nothing like that at all in Australia. Or not for medievalists any way. I suppose if I wanted to re-enact the Anzac landing at Gallipoli in 1915 I’d be happier than a pig in mud with a bad case of trenchfoot, but as it happens, no, really no.

    My conclusion about that little tight V neck shape being an effect of the brooch is the same as yours, btw. In plain wool with a lighter, less posh, brooch, you can still get the same effect by deliberately pinching/folding up the fabric into it, which also gives you some nice drapery patterns down the front that you do sometimes see represented in pictures and statues. I have occasionally seen, on men, bigger V necks that I don’t think could be explained by the neck closure, but not often, and a quick zoom through my pinterest page tells me I have no such images to hand.

    Anyway, awesome, awesome, I’ve only stopped making Kermit arms in delight so I can type and tell you about it.

    • I was told by one ex pat Australian parent at the weekend that medieval reenactment down under has other attractions, as in he decided to go skinny dipping in a lake with some ladies whilst his friends sweated it out in armour!

      My posh jewelery is something I find interesting rather than attractive. The one I wear most often is a fairly hideous confection that looks like it was designed by a bling obsessed toddler. Gareth is appaled by much of it, but I work on the understanding that taste is a shifting thing

      • My real toddler (actually a 5 year old now) has been peering over my shoulder whilst I sketched out possible medievaloid designs to paint a round box to be first aid kit whilst medieval-camping, has and just this very moment finished painting her own box lid bright blue, with a pink love heart in the middle outlined in white, with a red line and then a line of yellow dots around it. If the heart were a quatrefoil I might have to steal her design. So I guess she’s in touch with her inner thirteenth century adult. I admire her productivity, mine’s just up to the undercoat.

      • Many quatrefoils have heart shaped bits, like four leafed clovers? You could take inpiration

      • I want to get the two big chests and the throne painted, but it’s not going to happen anytime soon, as they’re both going back to the museum tomorrow

  5. The costumes look simply stunning and the details of the jewellery really bring it all together. What a credit to your talent with needle and blowtorch!

Leave a Reply

 
