Medieval paris

image

This is actually a project I’ve wanted to do for a while. The almoner purses I’ve done are pretty much the “it” bags of thec14th, so I wanted to make a medieval it girl.

the base image is from codex manesse, and I’ve added the iPhone, handbag, and chihuahua.

im still not entirely sure about the pink, because. pink is just soooo not my colour.

I was hoping to have her sleeves and the little dogs body done as well, since I’m doing this alongside my students on the ashmolean course, but what with Evesham all I’ve had was two days this week ( also I’m still not sure if I want her sleeves to be green, blue, or white). I really think this is pretty decent progress for two days. We are focusing on faces tomorrow so I’ve started that, although I probably won’t get much done during class as helping everyone else has to be my main priority. I do intend to consult the class on whether paris here should be rocking a bit of a retro eighties vibe with a splash of blue eye shadow though.

The iPhone, circlet, handbag and dog collar will be gold and pearl, so they’ll be left for the final class.

~ by opusanglicanum on August 14, 2015.

13 Responses to “Medieval paris”

  1. She makes a wonderful It Girl!

  2. Just about to take a selfie, too. I like her. Blonde, auburn or brunette? That choice will probably settle the sleeve colour for you.

  3. She’s so Legally Blonde!

  4. Gawd I love it when you do things like this! πŸ˜€

  5. She’s wonderful! And I would make her blonde, just because of paris.

    I’m always amazed and impressed at your embroidery skills (and your color choices). If I didn’t know it better I would have guessed that the dress is painted, it’s a beautiful artistic work.

Leave a Reply

 
