Finished casket

This thing is really hard to photograph ( as shiny things so often are) so I will try and get Gareth to take some proper pics next week

image

image

Im really glad I dug this out and got it gilded, as it’s allowed myself and the gilder to iron out some problems- there was some damage to the finish of the enamel here due to the acid he used. If this had been anything else I would have been upset, but since it’s a rescue it or throw it away project it’s served as a good object lesson, both for the gilding and the construction. I’d be much happier tackling another project like this again and I’m much more confident making hinges now.

its a little skew iffy in places, but…

there was also a surprising amount of sewing involved with the lining

image

image

Oh, and if anyone wants a calendar you need to pre order by the end of next week

~ by opusanglicanum on October 22, 2015.

13 Responses to “Finished casket”

  1. It’s fascinating (and very oooh-shiny). I’m looking forward to seeing clearer pictures so that I can admire all the little sections properly.

  2. Wow, it’s looking pretty good even in these photos so it’s going to look amazingly colourful and shiny somewhere in a medieval tent.

  3. It is terrific. What is important enough to store in it?

  4. I can assure you that no-one will notice any of the little flaws that you’re aware of. They’ll be far too dazzled!

  5. For the final time – is there no end to your talents?

  6. The casket is wonderful! For me it’s fascinating that the inside looks as shiny as the outside, at least on the photo.
    I bet the chocolate coins were totally happy to be able to live in such a splendid home.

Leave a Reply

 
