New Christmas skirt

I had one of those days on Saturday, and ended up quite grumpy by mid afternoon. First I went to cut out a shirt for John, only to find that although I had enough fabric to cut the shirt, I would have to cut around the best bits of the pattern, so I decided to order another metre of the very expensive fabric in order to cut it prettily (on the plus side whilst I was trawling ebay for the fabric I wanted I did also find exactly the right fabric for his next Year’s present, so I bought that too).

Then I found I was short on a shirt I was cutting for someone else, but that fabric was from Sam taylors in Leeds town centre.

Then I realised I didn’t have the right coloured thread for the two shirts I had managed to successfully cut.

Grrrr…

So Gareth and I decided we would go into town late in the afternoon and visit the German Christmas market by way of Sam Taylors, where I could pick up threads and fabric. Gareth says my mood lightened noticeably upon promise of a visit to a haberdashery.

Once we’d ticked everything off my shopping list I went for another look at the Christmas fabrics, because you can never have too many looks at the Christmas fabrics.

I decided I would get something to make a new Christmas storytelling skirt for work, because the one I’ve been using for the last few years is looking worn. Mainly this is because its just a plain green cotton with gold snowflakes printed on, and I didn’t realise at the time that gold fabric ink wears off- in this case it’s mainly worn off around my bum where I’ve sat down.

But then I couldn’t decide which fabric to get for my new skirt, so I decided to have all of them, but in 20 or 30 cm strips. Once I got home I raided the box of Christmas fabrics (because I am actually organised enough to have sorted the printed cottons into Christmas and non Christmas.) for a few more pieces. I ended up with 23 pieces of fabric and a 6metre hem, which was a bit more than I originally intended.

DSC_1333DSC_1335

Tasteful, innit?

Obviously when I wear it for work there will be a pretty Christmas blouse rather than a nightmare before Christmas tee shirt that’s seen better days, and I will also bother to lace the corset up properly. I also need to take the waistband in a bit to compensate for where the corset makes my waist much smaller than the usual sprawling girth.

The best bit is that because I just sewed together full width strips of the various fabrics before cutting them to the right length, I ended up with enough to make Gareth a Christmassy mutt shirt in the style of the black and white one I made him over summer. I’m not sure if I’ll have time to make that this year, but if not it gives him a new shirt for next year.

~ by opusanglicanum on December 8, 2015.

2 Responses to “New Christmas skirt”

  1. If all it takes to cheer up is a visit to the haberdashery, I’m glad there was one within range!

Leave a Reply

 
