Presents

I hope everyone had a lovely day yesterday. I managed not to burn any of Christmas dinner, which is usually about the best I can hope for.

I wanted to show off two of my lovely presents. Dad and Janet got me this…

imageimageimage

This was a total surprise. Gareth and Janet came up with it, and then dad and Janet drove to Grimsby to pick it up ( they had fish and chips). It’s a very generous gift, I suspect it’s worth more than my little van, and it weighs nearly the same. This one definitely won’t be becoming part of the little library that comes to class.

its very exciting, the Lutrell psalter has been inspiring me for years, and it will continue to do so for many more.

gareth got me this

image

Which is another piece by neida Pearson, I saw her in the gallery earlier in the year and fell in love. She has the same fascination with textiles and texture as the other piece I own by the same artist, and I’m going to hang her with her Tudor sister in my study.

I have to admit I have no desire to hang her in the bedroom, no matter how much I love her, as her butterFly shadowed face is just a tiny bit creepy.

and Caz knitted me a most awesome fishy hat

image

I’m going to do some nice mindless machine sewing this morning, because my tired brain can’t cope with anything else ( everyone else is playing with thier lego) then I’m hoping to work on some embroidery this afternoon- I don’t think the weather will allow the traditional Boxing Day walk.

and I’m going to have a proper Boxing Day fry up whilst the wierdoes eat porridge- they don’t know what they’re missing

 

 

 

~ by opusanglicanum on December 26, 2015.

10 Responses to “Presents”

  1. Very envious of your psalter ever since I saw pages of it last year! I like Boxing Day food – point people in front of the fridge and tell them to help themselves while I put my feet up. :o)

    • We have nibble bits later on, which involves some work on my part but is one of my biggest treats at Christmas because I make wheat free versions of samosas and all the other yummies I miss out on all year long. Most of them are pre- prepared and frozen though

  2. The Luttrell Psalter facsimile is the best present ever! You’re going to get so much embroidery inspiration just by browsing it.

  3. Wow, that book is a wonderful thing to have and treasure. Aren’t you lucky!

  4. Doesn’t it make you feel loved to get presents that have involved thought and effort? Have a great break and I look forward to next year’s projects!

  5. What a wonderful set of presents! You lucky girl!

Leave a Reply

 
